The pfSense Store

Author Topic: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine  (Read 698 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NollipfSense

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« on: October 07, 2017, 12:33:42 pm »
I found this HP Pavilion at the trash in my apartment...took it home and it worked...so; my light bulb bright idea suggested turning it into a PFSense machine. I will maxed out the RAM (8GB - Crucial) and thinking of installing the Intel-Pro 1000 NIC (I haven't bought it yet)...would this work? Could I install PFSense only without assigning WAN/LAN before I get NIC which would take a few days to arrive? I would use a Monitor to aid install...so, should I select the VGA version? The machine would run headless after the install and the upgrade

I am familiar with PFSense as I had set up on a VirtualBox machine on my Mac.

Offline NollipfSense

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2017, 11:25:58 am »
Okay, I got PFSense installed; however, I have not complete the configuration and will have to wait for the NIC and memory to arrive. Thinking of the Intel-Pro 1000 dual port card as the stock card is only 100.

Offline NollipfSense

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2017, 11:49:41 am »
So, I have ordered both the memory and the NIC, which won't arrive towards the end of the month from China. I chose the Intel i350 t2 card and will place in the PCIE✕16 slot...the price was right.

Any hint in installing the NIC would be appreciated.

Offline ericseastrand

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2017, 11:01:38 pm »
It's been a while since I set up a new box like this, but if memory serves correct, you won't be able to assign the NICs until they can be seen by the OS. You might still be able to use the built-in NIC for the LAN side (at least temporarily), which would let you go ahead and get that part working (DHCP, web GUI access, etc). Then it could (in theory) just be as simple as assigning those new NICs once you get them installed.

Installing a network card in a tower-style desktop like that is pretty simple. Here's a video of installing one in a generic computer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOT73ermd9c
Probably the only thing that will differ for you is how the case is actually opened: https://www.manualshelf.com/manual/hp/hp-pavilion-a6242n-desktop-pc/upgrading-and-servicing-guide/page-7.html
Here is the walkthrough of installing a PCIe card in that machine: https://www.manualshelf.com/manual/hp/hp-pavilion-a6242n-desktop-pc/upgrading-and-servicing-guide/page-31.html

Disclaimer: I'm basing all this off of these specs. I assume they're correct : https://www.engadget.com/products/hp/pavilion/a6242n/specs/

Don't forget to protect against static electricity. https://www.wikihow.com/Ground-Yourself-to-Avoid-Destroying-a-Computer-with-Electrostatic-Discharge

Offline NollipfSense

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2017, 08:22:52 am »
It's been a while since I set up a new box like this, but if memory serves correct, you won't be able to assign the NICs until they can be seen by the OS. You might still be able to use the built-in NIC for the LAN side (at least temporarily), which would let you go ahead and get that part working (DHCP, web GUI access, etc). Then it could (in theory) just be as simple as assigning those new NICs once you get them installed.

Installing a network card in a tower-style desktop like that is pretty simple. Here's a video of installing one in a generic computer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOT73ermd9c
Probably the only thing that will differ for you is how the case is actually opened: https://www.manualshelf.com/manual/hp/hp-pavilion-a6242n-desktop-pc/upgrading-and-servicing-guide/page-7.html
Here is the walkthrough of installing a PCIe card in that machine: https://www.manualshelf.com/manual/hp/hp-pavilion-a6242n-desktop-pc/upgrading-and-servicing-guide/page-31.html

Disclaimer: I'm basing all this off of these specs. I assume they're correct : https://www.engadget.com/products/hp/pavilion/a6242n/specs/

Don't forget to protect against static electricity. https://www.wikihow.com/Ground-Yourself-to-Avoid-Destroying-a-Computer-with-Electrostatic-Discharge

Thank you ericseastrand for responding with real care. I was concerned about whether I would have issue installing the NIC since I already PFSense OS; however, upon further reading, I discovered the OS already has the drivers built-in...so it will be plug-n-play.  I launched the OS just to make sure all was well, then shut it down. I didn't assign anything as well as I never plan on using the on-board Ethernet port since its only 100mb.

This PFSense machine will supplement my Mikrotik and Apple extreme.

Offline NollipfSense

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2017, 11:46:20 pm »
Well, the memory (Crucial DDR2 800mhz - 8GB) and NIC - (Chinese Intel-i350-t2) came today; however, when I installed only the memory, the machine boots up but, when I installed the NIC, the machine doesn't boot at all...I don't understand as the OS supports this NIC. The OS is PFSense 2.3.

I cannot enter the BIOS either...is there any solution? If necessary, I could wipe the hard drive and install Windows 7 Ultimate...thanks!

Offline DeLorean

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2017, 03:29:30 am »
Well, the memory (Crucial DDR2 800mhz - 8GB) and NIC - (Chinese Intel-i350-t2) came today; however, when I installed only the memory, the machine boots up but, when I installed the NIC, the machine doesn't boot at all...I don't understand as the OS supports this NIC. The OS is PFSense 2.3.

I cannot enter the BIOS either...is there any solution? If necessary, I could wipe the hard drive and install Windows 7 Ultimate...thanks!

Not all motherboards support a NIC in the PCIE✕16 slot.
HP can be very picky sometimes.
Before installing the Dual Nic card, you can search for a setting that sets the onboard VGA card manually as primairy,
on auto, the motherboard can assume you installed a PCIEX16 VGA card while its a NIC, and auto-disable the onboard VGA.
The result is then no screen output.

When this option will not help, you can try after installing the Dual NIC,
to reset the BIOS by removing the battery for a minute.
HP's can be a hassle if hardware configuration is changed.

Best regards
DeLorean

Offline johnkeates

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
  • Karma: +51/-1
    • View Profile
Re: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2017, 08:06:45 am »
Keep in mind the AMD X2 4800+ chip will not be very fast, probably has no AES (thus won't work with upcoming pfSense versions and will be slow with VPN), and eats a lot of power.

Also:

Quote
In the minimum performance state (P-state) the processor runs at 1000 MHz and 1.1 Volt core voltage. Thermal Design Power in the minimum P-state is 46.6 Watt

While the TDP is more about how much heat it can put out, it is not uncommon for this old type of CPU to eat 40Watt idle. Add the rest of the system to that and you'll be running at 55Watts idle or more! Depending on where you live, that means about 100 euros per year (117 USD?). If your power is cheap, it might be a whole lot less.

Offline NollipfSense

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2017, 10:51:26 am »
Well, the memory (Crucial DDR2 800mhz - 8GB) and NIC - (Chinese Intel-i350-t2) came today; however, when I installed only the memory, the machine boots up but, when I installed the NIC, the machine doesn't boot at all...I don't understand as the OS supports this NIC. The OS is PFSense 2.3.

I cannot enter the BIOS either...is there any solution? If necessary, I could wipe the hard drive and install Windows 7 Ultimate...thanks!

Not all motherboards support a NIC in the PCIE✕16 slot.
HP can be very picky sometimes.
Before installing the Dual Nic card, you can search for a setting that sets the onboard VGA card manually as primairy,
on auto, the motherboard can assume you installed a PCIEX16 VGA card while its a NIC, and auto-disable the onboard VGA.
The result is then no screen output.

When this option will not help, you can try after installing the Dual NIC,
to reset the BIOS by removing the battery for a minute.
HP's can be a hassle if hardware configuration is changed.

Best regards
DeLorean

Thank you DeLorean for responding...I searched the web and HP...one source said the PCIE✕16 is for graphic card only; however, HP made no mention of that. With the NIC installed, I actually got the cursor flashing...it just didn't boot. Now, the monitor I borrowed is no longer available for me to check the BIOS...so, I am looking for a cheap monitor on eBay...it will be a few more days to follow up.

Offline NollipfSense

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« Reply #9 on: October 27, 2017, 11:00:54 am »
Keep in mind the AMD X2 4800+ chip will not be very fast, probably has no AES (thus won't work with upcoming pfSense versions and will be slow with VPN), and eats a lot of power.

Also:

Quote
In the minimum performance state (P-state) the processor runs at 1000 MHz and 1.1 Volt core voltage. Thermal Design Power in the minimum P-state is 46.6 Watt

While the TDP is more about how much heat it can put out, it is not uncommon for this old type of CPU to eat 40Watt idle. Add the rest of the system to that and you'll be running at 55Watts idle or more! Depending on where you live, that means about 100 euros per year (117 USD?). If your power is cheap, it might be a whole lot less.

I was aware of the limitations as well as the electricity draw when I made the decision to put this trashed computer to use...It was solely for a temporary use and for learning...that's why I maxed out the memory.

I wondered whether there is a way to share screen to supplement the web configuration...is there? All my other computers are Mac.

Offline johnkeates

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
  • Karma: +51/-1
    • View Profile
Re: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« Reply #10 on: October 27, 2017, 11:26:02 am »
Keep in mind the AMD X2 4800+ chip will not be very fast, probably has no AES (thus won't work with upcoming pfSense versions and will be slow with VPN), and eats a lot of power.

Also:

Quote
In the minimum performance state (P-state) the processor runs at 1000 MHz and 1.1 Volt core voltage. Thermal Design Power in the minimum P-state is 46.6 Watt

While the TDP is more about how much heat it can put out, it is not uncommon for this old type of CPU to eat 40Watt idle. Add the rest of the system to that and you'll be running at 55Watts idle or more! Depending on where you live, that means about 100 euros per year (117 USD?). If your power is cheap, it might be a whole lot less.

I was aware of the limitations as well as the electricity draw when I made the decision to put this trashed computer to use...It was solely for a temporary use and for learning...that's why I maxed out the memory.

I wondered whether there is a way to share screen to supplement the web configuration...is there? All my other computers are Mac.

There is no actual need to see what's on the screen, nothing there is unavailable remote unless all your networking is busted. There is SSH access which you might like, all Macs have Terminal and SSH preinstalled so you can just open up Terminal.app and use ssh root@<firewall ip> with your admin password.

Offline DeLorean

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« Reply #11 on: October 29, 2017, 12:27:41 pm »
Thank you DeLorean for responding...I searched the web and HP...one source said the PCIE✕16 is for graphic card only; however, HP made no mention of that. With the NIC installed, I actually got the cursor flashing...it just didn't boot.

Maybe a stupid question, but did you use a program like Win32 Disk Imager to place the .IMG file on your
USB memory stick ?
Did you use the normal and not serial version of pfSense ?
It seems that the USB memory stick to install pfSense is not properly prepared.


Grtz
DeLorean

Offline NollipfSense

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« Reply #12 on: October 29, 2017, 12:34:21 pm »
Keep in mind the AMD X2 4800+ chip will not be very fast, probably has no AES (thus won't work with upcoming pfSense versions and will be slow with VPN), and eats a lot of power.

Also:

Quote
In the minimum performance state (P-state) the processor runs at 1000 MHz and 1.1 Volt core voltage. Thermal Design Power in the minimum P-state is 46.6 Watt

While the TDP is more about how much heat it can put out, it is not uncommon for this old type of CPU to eat 40Watt idle. Add the rest of the system to that and you'll be running at 55Watts idle or more! Depending on where you live, that means about 100 euros per year (117 USD?). If your power is cheap, it might be a whole lot less.

I was aware of the limitations as well as the electricity draw when I made the decision to put this trashed computer to use...It was solely for a temporary use and for learning...that's why I maxed out the memory.

I wondered whether there is a way to share screen to supplement the web configuration...is there? All my other computers are Mac.

There is no actual need to see what's on the screen, nothing there is unavailable remote unless all your networking is busted. There is SSH access which you might like, all Macs have Terminal and SSH preinstalled so you can just open up Terminal.app and use ssh root@<firewall ip> with your admin password.

Thank you Johnkeates...I actually purchased this monitor on eBay: http://tinyurl.com/y79d5lz6 as well as PS/2 keyboard and mouse just to be sure I can access the BIOS to enable the NIC. The items will arrive by the end of the week.

Offline NollipfSense

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« Reply #13 on: October 29, 2017, 12:38:53 pm »
Thank you DeLorean for responding...I searched the web and HP...one source said the PCIE✕16 is for graphic card only; however, HP made no mention of that. With the NIC installed, I actually got the cursor flashing...it just didn't boot.

Maybe a stupid question, but did you use a program like Win32 Disk Imager to place the .IMG file on your
USB memory stick ?
Did you use the normal and not serial version of pfSense ?
It seems that the USB memory stick to install pfSense is not properly prepared.


Grtz
DeLorean

No...I used Gparted to format the hard drive and burned PFSense 2.3 onto a DVD then installed...it's the normal version.

Offline DeLorean

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HP Pavilion a6242N for PFSense Machine
« Reply #14 on: October 29, 2017, 12:51:57 pm »
Why not using a USB memory stick and version 2.4.1 ?
I think your dvd is just not bootable/readable.
The reason for that can be many things :
1) Burnerror(s)
2) Wrong type of burning method
3) Problem with the dvd-reader/writer

In the begin with my first steps in pfSense, i have used also cd's to install,
but wasted a lot cd's and more problems to get it working.
Since then i always use a USB memory stick and Win32 Disk Imager to place the .IMG file ,
less problems to install, and much faster then from cd or dvd.


Grtz
DeLorean