pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: 2.4.0 Release  (Read 1709 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alecp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
2.4.0 Release
« on: October 12, 2017, 10:11:37 am »
Upgraded to 2.4.0 release with no issues.

Online JKnott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 767
  • Karma: +28/-4
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4.0 Release
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2017, 10:35:46 am »
I just updated too.  OK so far.  At least I can access this forum.   :)

Offline Sealr0x

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4.0 Release
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2017, 11:45:36 am »
Just updated. No problems!

Great job, pfSense team!

Offline chudak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4.0 Release
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2017, 12:00:31 pm »
Thx for updates!!!
Anybody tried upgrade on QOTOM box ?

Offline hobbes80

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4.0 Release
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2017, 12:24:42 pm »
I upgraded two of my pfsense from 2.3.4-RELEASE-p1 running on vmware 6.5.

One of them upgraded without issue. The other would not come back after reboot without removing the media in the CD Drive. Not sure why it was hanging up there, but as soon as I removed it the system booted right up.

Offline Boab

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4.0 Release
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2017, 12:28:36 pm »
Simple upgrade no issues - thank you.

Offline deadmalc

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4.0 Release
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2017, 01:45:46 pm »
I had a strange issue, after I upgraded all my load balancer settings were blank!
I'd taken a copy before, but before I thought I'd try rebooting.
After a reboot, the settings came back and everything is fine now.
A restart of the service may have worked, but I was being lazy.
All seems well so far!

Offline sronsen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4.0 Release
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2017, 03:44:50 pm »
Giant pfSense logo obscures and prevents access to controls on top 20% of graphic interface screens.  Help!

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21099
  • Karma: +1379/-25
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4.0 Release
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2017, 03:59:58 pm »
Giant pfSense logo obscures and prevents access to controls on top 20% of graphic interface screens.  Help!

Press F5 :-)

Or Ctrl-F5

Browser caches are silly.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline jgiannakas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4.0 Release
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2017, 04:12:26 pm »
Thx for updates!!!
Anybody tried upgrade on QOTOM box ?

Yes, Iíve been running 2.4 since the RC came out in September without issues. Iíd recommend a reinstall and configure restore so you can setup ZFS.

Offline chudak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4.0 Release
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2017, 04:17:31 pm »
Thx for updates!!!
Anybody tried upgrade on QOTOM box ?

Yes, Iíve been running 2.4 since the RC came out in September without issues. Iíd recommend a reinstall and configure restore so you can setup ZFS.

@jgiannakas can you elaborate a little pls?  if I do regular upgrade via web UI, is it safe?  What about ZFS?

Offline jgiannakas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4.0 Release
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2017, 04:33:07 pm »
Thx for updates!!!
Anybody tried upgrade on QOTOM box ?

Yes, Iíve been running 2.4 since the RC came out in September without issues. Iíd recommend a reinstall and configure restore so you can setup ZFS.

@jgiannakas can you elaborate a little pls?  if I do regular upgrade via web UI, is it safe?  What about ZFS?

It is safe and thatís how I installed it at first - via the web gui. Just make sure you donít refresh the screen till itís done.

However you canít get ZFS via upgrade, youíll be stuck using ufs. If you want to move to ZFS (which you should as even in single disk mode itís more reliable than ufs) then you need to reinstall from scratch and restore the configuration xml upon completion.

Offline chudak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4.0 Release
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2017, 04:41:34 pm »
Thx for updates!!!
Anybody tried upgrade on QOTOM box ?

Yes, Iíve been running 2.4 since the RC came out in September without issues. Iíd recommend a reinstall and configure restore so you can setup ZFS.

@jgiannakas can you elaborate a little pls?  if I do regular upgrade via web UI, is it safe?  What about ZFS?

It is safe and thatís how I installed it at first - via the web gui. Just make sure you donít refresh the screen till itís done.

However you canít get ZFS via upgrade, youíll be stuck using ufs. If you want to move to ZFS (which you should as even in single disk mode itís more reliable than ufs) then you need to reinstall from scratch and restore the configuration xml upon completion.

Got it thx!  So if I stay on *old* ufs and do ZFS later, I will be good :)

Offline kpa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1159
  • Karma: +130/-6
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4.0 Release
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2017, 04:44:03 pm »
Thx for updates!!!
Anybody tried upgrade on QOTOM box ?

Yes, Iíve been running 2.4 since the RC came out in September without issues. Iíd recommend a reinstall and configure restore so you can setup ZFS.

@jgiannakas can you elaborate a little pls?  if I do regular upgrade via web UI, is it safe?  What about ZFS?

It is safe and thatís how I installed it at first - via the web gui. Just make sure you donít refresh the screen till itís done.

However you canít get ZFS via upgrade, youíll be stuck using ufs. If you want to move to ZFS (which you should as even in single disk mode itís more reliable than ufs) then you need to reinstall from scratch and restore the configuration xml upon completion.

Not exactly, the installer offers you a "rescue configuration" option which allows you to boot from the install media, rescue the configuration from the existing installation and then reinstall pfSense from scratch but using the rescued configuration.

Offline chudak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4.0 Release
« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2017, 04:46:21 pm »
Not exactly, the installer offers you a "rescue configuration" option which allows you to boot from the install media, rescue the configuration from the existing installation and then reinstall pfSense from scratch but using the rescued configuration.

Hmm, can I do upgrade without any USB media and without connection pfSense box to monitor?
What does the rescued configuration do ?

Thx