The pfSense Store

Author Topic: SG-1000 shows 100% CPU.  (Read 672 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline ivor

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 583
  • Karma: +134/-125
    • View Profile
    • Netgate
Re: SG-1000 shows 100% CPU.
« Reply #15 on: October 30, 2017, 05:39:15 pm »
Yes, the SG-2220 seems to be working OK for the moment.  What bugged me about the RMA was that I tried reflashing pfSense from a USB stick many many times (and I had done it successfully before) but would consistently get error messages about corruption on the eMMC (or something like that, it's been a while).  Whoever handled the RMA must have done something different than what I was doing, and I would really like to know what that was, so I could handle such a situation myself should it happen again (saving me the hassle of being without the device for several weeks).

I noticed the page has been updated, but I have to say that I still wouldn't recommend the SG-1000 over the EdgeRouter X, certainly not worth 3x the price unless I am missing something obvious... not as versatile but there aren't a whole lot of spare CPU cycles for doing anything interesting.

-Rimas

OK, I'm glad the 2220 is still working. You have an extended warranty for the unit so if there's any issues let us know (and reference this thread or just mention me in the ticket).

About the SG-1000, looks like it's not a good fit for your network. Here's my suggestion, send it back to us and let's replace it with Minnowboard Turbot Dual-E, free of charge. This model specifically:

https://store.netgate.com/MBT-2220-system.aspx

It comes with a Dual Core Atom E3826 1.46 GHz CPU, 2GB RAM and a 32 GB M.2 SSD. It's just our way of saying sorry for the troubles you've had. And we're really sorry. If you agree, let me know and we can arrange the details.

Thanks!
Need help fast? Commercial support: https://www.netgate.com/support/

Online kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4897
  • Karma: +194/-40
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: SG-1000 shows 100% CPU.
« Reply #16 on: October 30, 2017, 05:41:04 pm »
Wow...  I take back everything I've said about Ivor!

Offline funkrhythm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: SG-1000 shows 100% CPU.
« Reply #17 on: October 31, 2017, 06:31:23 pm »
Thanks for the offer - I would like to take you up on it!  Email me and let's work out the details.


Offline ivor

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 583
  • Karma: +134/-125
    • View Profile
    • Netgate
Re: SG-1000 shows 100% CPU.
« Reply #18 on: October 31, 2017, 06:43:18 pm »
Sounds good! We already have your information from the previous tickets so expect an email from us. Thank you!
Need help fast? Commercial support: https://www.netgate.com/support/