The pfSense Store

Author Topic: SNMP service down  (Read 13974 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline john3voltas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
SNMP service down
« on: December 06, 2005, 05:24:06 pm »
Hi there,
Running pfS 0.95.4 and I was having trouble with m0n0mon (SNMP tool for m0n0 and pfS) when I looked over at Status > Services and I found out that both SNMP and WoL services were stopped.
Here's a snapshot of my Status > Services window and another one of my SNMP window.
Any idea of why this is happening?
Cheers
pfSense 2.2.4 running on a HP DL385 G5
WAN bce(4) + LAN em(4) + OPTn em(4) with 10 VLANs + Snort + PPTP VPN soon to be trashed by OVPN

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: SNMP service down
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2005, 06:38:25 pm »
Fill in all the fields for SNMP and see if it starts

Offline john3voltas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SNMP service down
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2005, 07:18:43 pm »
Oops,
Those fields didn't exist in m0n0wall and that's why I didn't fill them up?
Are they simple text strings with no real configurable meaning?
Can I input my town name and my phone number?
Is that what those fields are there for?
May I advise you that I have already filled those fields with my town name and my phone number and still the SNMP service won't start.
TIA
Cheers
pfSense 2.2.4 running on a HP DL385 G5
WAN bce(4) + LAN em(4) + OPTn em(4) with 10 VLANs + Snort + PPTP VPN soon to be trashed by OVPN

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: SNMP service down
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2005, 07:27:58 pm »
Oops,
Those fields didn't exist in m0n0wall and that's why I didn't fill them up?
Are they simple text strings with no real configurable meaning?
Can I input my town name and my phone number?
Is that what those fields are there for?
May I advise you that I have already filled those fields with my town name and my phone number and still the SNMP service won't start.
TIA
Cheers

Run this from a shell and report the results:

/usr/sbin/bsnmpd -c /var/etc/snmpd.conf -p /var/run/snmpd.pid

Offline john3voltas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SNMP service down
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2005, 07:42:21 pm »
Do you mean Diagnostics > Command Prompt > Execute ?
Did that but bsnmpd still stopped.
Gee, this ain't my day is it?
And it sure this ain't your day too  :D.
Cheers
pfSense 2.2.4 running on a HP DL385 G5
WAN bce(4) + LAN em(4) + OPTn em(4) with 10 VLANs + Snort + PPTP VPN soon to be trashed by OVPN

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: SNMP service down
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2005, 07:44:11 pm »
Do you mean Diagnostics > Command Prompt > Execute ?
Did that but bsnmpd still stopped.
Gee, this ain't my day is it?
And it sure this ain't your day too  :D.
Cheers

From the same command prompt run:

ps awux | grep bsnmpd

Offline john3voltas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SNMP service down
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2005, 07:47:41 pm »
Got this:
Code: [Select]
$ ps awux | grep bsnmpd
root    12850  3.7  2.0  1632  1136  ??  SN    1:45AM   0:00.07 sh -c ps awux | grep bsnmpd
root    12852  3.7  1.2  1464   672  ??  RN    1:45AM   0:00.04 grep bsnmpd

But bsnmpd is still stopped according to the status > services page.
Duh :D.
Cheers
pfSense 2.2.4 running on a HP DL385 G5
WAN bce(4) + LAN em(4) + OPTn em(4) with 10 VLANs + Snort + PPTP VPN soon to be trashed by OVPN

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: SNMP service down
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2005, 07:50:40 pm »
Got this:
Code: [Select]
$ ps awux | grep bsnmpd
root    12850  3.7  2.0  1632  1136  ??  SN    1:45AM   0:00.07 sh -c ps awux | grep bsnmpd
root    12852  3.7  1.2  1464   672  ??  RN    1:45AM   0:00.04 grep bsnmpd

But bsnmpd is still stopped according to the status > services page.
Duh :D.
Cheers

Uh not quite.  The command that showed up was you executing ps.

Not sure why it's not starting on your box.  It's working great here.    What platform (embedded or full)

Offline john3voltas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SNMP service down
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2005, 07:57:37 pm »
0.95.4 Embedded on a Soekris net4521 which has the same specs as the net4501.
The main difference is the 4501 has 3 NICs and the 4521 has 2 NICs with 2xPCMCIA.
I told you, this ain't my day.
It's 2am here in PTG.
Gotta get some sleep.
I'll get back tomorrow and we'll see if we missed something.
But thanks for all the tips.
Cheers
pfSense 2.2.4 running on a HP DL385 G5
WAN bce(4) + LAN em(4) + OPTn em(4) with 10 VLANs + Snort + PPTP VPN soon to be trashed by OVPN

Offline john3voltas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SNMP service down
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2005, 08:21:43 pm »
Remember me saying that WoL was not starting up too?
When I configured pfS I had setup a client on the client's list.
That way it would be easier to wake up my home PC when I'm away.
I just removed that entry and the WoL service started.
But the SNMP is still down.
And I already rebooted the box, disabled SNMP, reenabled SNMP but it stays disabled.
Maybe we'll talk more about this tomorrow.
Cheers
pfSense 2.2.4 running on a HP DL385 G5
WAN bce(4) + LAN em(4) + OPTn em(4) with 10 VLANs + Snort + PPTP VPN soon to be trashed by OVPN

Offline john3voltas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SNMP service down
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2005, 07:43:13 am »
Hi guys,
Having solved the WoL issue temporarily - yes temporarily because now I can't have a list of hosts to wake up :( - I have been trying to understand what is happening with the SNMP service.
And suddenly, while watching my logs I saw this:
Code: [Select]
Dec 7 13:08:29 php: : DynDns: Running updatedns()
Dec 7 13:08:29 php: : DynDns: updatedns() starting
Dec 7 13:08:29 php: : DynDns: _detectChange() starting.
Dec 7 13:08:29 php: : DynDns: Current WAN IP: x.x.x.x
Dec 7 13:08:31 kernel: sis1: Applying short cable fix (reg=e8)
Dec 7 13:08:33 php: : DynDns: Cached IP: 0.0.0.0
Dec 7 13:08:33 php: : DynDns: cacheIP != wan_ip. Updating.
Dec 7 13:08:33 php: : DynDns: DynDns _update() starting.
Dec 7 13:08:37 kernel: sis1: Applying short cable fix (reg=e8)
Dec 7 13:08:38 kernel: sis1: Applying short cable fix (reg=e8)
Dec 7 13:08:40 php: : DynDns: DynDns _checkStatus() starting.
Dec 7 13:08:40 php: : DynDns: Current Service: dyndns
Dec 7 13:08:40 php: : phpDynDNS: PAYLOAD: abuse

I thought, oh man, I really need the dynamic dns service up.
Although it doesn't show as being "down" in the status > services window I checked my DynDNS account and they say it's blocked :(.
I can assure you it was working perfectly before I tried pfSense instead of m0n0.
So, 1st it was the SNMP, then it was the WoL, then the networking performance is very poor and now a dynamic dns problem.
What else will happen to me?...
Cheers
pfSense 2.2.4 running on a HP DL385 G5
WAN bce(4) + LAN em(4) + OPTn em(4) with 10 VLANs + Snort + PPTP VPN soon to be trashed by OVPN