pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: killed: out of swap space  (Read 177 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline shad0wca7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
killed: out of swap space
« on: November 07, 2017, 08:00:41 am »
This was posted in reddit but I've not had any responses...

I've seen some old posts for this but the way to check for things (RDD graphs) doesn't seem to be in the menus. I was running 2.4.0 and returned home from a day away to find the logs full of 'Killed: out of swap space' and the router non-functional. Reset it and all is OK. The system is running virtualised, 512mb ram. 3 VLANs, DNSBL, Avahi and nothing else really.

I've upgraded to 2.4.1 incase there was a memory leak bug in the previous release but I'm none-the wise in understanding what happened. Any thoughts?

Offline shad0wca7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: killed: out of swap space
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2017, 12:24:42 am »
Bump. Happened again last night....

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4956
  • Karma: +197/-41
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: killed: out of swap space
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2017, 01:17:29 am »
Are you running packages that even for a split second might require more memory + swap than you have?  You have to keep on top of that. 

Offline biggsy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: killed: out of swap space
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2017, 03:04:16 am »

512 MB of RAM seems a bit light.  Try 1 or 2 GB if you can.

How much disk did you give the VM?

Offline shad0wca7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: killed: out of swap space
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2017, 03:59:42 am »
The disk is 8gb. I can try upping the ram but it never really seems to go above 70% usage as it is...

The packages are pretty light. Nothing too interesting:

Avahi
OpenVM Tools
Cron
Open VPN client export
pfBlockerNG
Service Watchdog

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9255
  • Karma: +1054/-308
    • View Profile
Re: killed: out of swap space
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2017, 04:19:55 am »
Your problem isn't disk, it is RAM. If you have enough RAM you don't swap.

The culprit is probably pfBlockerNG.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline shad0wca7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: killed: out of swap space
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2017, 08:01:02 am »
Ok Iím going to bump it to 1G and see. Thanks for the help!

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4956
  • Karma: +197/-41
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: killed: out of swap space
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2017, 08:05:08 am »
1.5gb?  sounds perfect.

Offline shad0wca7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: killed: out of swap space
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2017, 08:05:43 am »
Yep I can do that.. plenty of spare.