The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Bought equipment. what should I do next?  (Read 555 times)

Offline Mesozder

• View Profile
Bought equipment. what should I do next?
« on: November 08, 2017, 01:07:22 pm »
Hi everyone.

I'm a total noob, and have just heard about Pfsense couple of weeks ago.
Reading here and some other places, I've bought some hardware, but I ned help with what should I do next.

I would like to be able to connect to my VPN and QNAP server from anywhere in Europe (I travel a bit), and to be able to see my Plex collection from remote locations. I would also like to be able to see my IP cam (there is nothing sensitive there, just some scenery, and my friends and family have access).

How would you connect this together?

EDIT
I would  like to add that Zyxel switch is completely new, and I haven't even turned it on or know how to use it if it needs some management. For the time being, I'm using some Linksys 8-port PoE unmanaged switch and Asus RT-AC3200 as a router.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2017, 01:12:18 pm by Mesozder »

Offline dbennett

• View Profile
Re: Bought equipment. what should I do next?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2017, 03:16:32 pm »
What type of networking experience do you have?

Offline johnpoz

• Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2017, 03:28:15 pm »
Well you can use that new zyxel as just dumb to get started.  Then you can fancier with it after your up and running on new switch.  And you have your remove access in.

To access your network remotely just run through the openvpn wizard.  For plex, you can just port forward.  Or connect in via your vpn then access your plex.

For your camera - I really would not suggest you open that to the public, and just access it via the vpn you setup.
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help