pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: can pfsense sleep/suspend?  (Read 145 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline krack-question

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
can pfsense sleep/suspend?
« on: November 09, 2017, 04:29:48 pm »
if pfsense able to sleep/suspend (S3 level) when there is no network activity, for a period of time ?

is this something that would need to be configured from the freeBSD command line ?

i am aware that wake-up would have to be manually done

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2079
  • Karma: +166/-9
    • View Profile
Re: can pfsense sleep/suspend?
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2017, 05:12:26 pm »
S3:In this state, RAM is still powered, although it is almost the only component that is. Since the state of the operating system and all applications, open documents, etc. lies all in main memory, the users can resume work exactly where they left. The computer is faster to resume than to reboot, secondly if any running applications have information this will not be written to the disk, This state is comparatively more common.

This means : NICS are down - no more communication. Bad for a firewall ...  ;)

Offline Harvy66

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2195
  • Karma: +202/-12
    • View Profile
Re: can pfsense sleep/suspend?
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2017, 08:10:41 pm »
Modern NICs can wake up the OS when traffic is destined for the interface. I can config my NIC to wake up on any traffic. Still sounds like an odd request for a firewall.

BlueKobold

  • Guest
Re: can pfsense sleep/suspend?
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2017, 11:32:56 pm »
Quote
if pfsense able to sleep/suspend (S3 level) when there is no network activity, for a period of time ?
And what is when pfSense is the only routing and DHCP device inside of the entire LAN? Who is routing then?
And what is with IDS/IPS on a DMZ or LAN or WAN Port? A network will never really sleep!

Quote
i am aware that wake-up would have to be manually done
Why would a firewall have to sleep? It is my WAN / DMZ / LAN device that should be even online and reachable.