pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap  (Read 680 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« on: November 11, 2017, 06:09:03 am »
Are there any plans for a 3 or 4 port device more akin to the APU devices.
I want to replace multiple APU routers for the future 2.5 roll out.
I have specific size restrictions and the SG-3100 is to large.

Should I look at Protectli 4 Port E3845 devices? (or similar)
Would like to buy Netgate and support the project.

11 cheers for binary

Offline ivor

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 586
  • Karma: +134/-125
    • View Profile
    • Netgate
Re: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2017, 06:13:06 am »
If two ports are enough, I strongly recommend our Minnowboard Turbot Dual-E models:

https://store.netgate.com/MBT-2220-system.aspx

https://store.netgate.com/MBT-4220-system.aspx
Need help fast? Commercial support: https://www.netgate.com/support/

Offline Gil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2017, 06:32:52 am »
Thanks, I was looking for the extra port ideally.

Is there a reason why these MBT's are not listed on the "pfSense Hardware Systems"?

 
11 cheers for binary

Offline ivor

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 586
  • Karma: +134/-125
    • View Profile
    • Netgate
Re: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2017, 08:00:03 am »
They were supposed to be official appliances, however due the HDMI bug that would take too long to fix in FreeBSD we were forced to sell hardware only. Read here https://www.netgate.com/blog/introducing-sg-2320-and-sg-2340-appliances.html

I have quad core model, pfSense works perfect on it. It's even recognized as SG-2340 or SG-2320 as pfSense.
Need help fast? Commercial support: https://www.netgate.com/support/

Offline Gil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2017, 03:01:39 pm »
Thank you for your responses to my questions.
However, I still have no suitable 3 port hardware replacement for the APU in the near future.

I have a number of SG-1000's which are delightfully small, but they get hot in enclosed environments and also need a switch for additional Lan ports.


11 cheers for binary

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2404
  • Karma: +144/-14
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2017, 07:29:19 pm »
... due the HDMI bug ... we were forced to sell hardware only.
Thanks for the clarification!
I asked about the differences some time ago but never got an answer until now.
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2404
  • Karma: +144/-14
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2017, 07:44:46 pm »
However, I still have no suitable 3 port hardware replacement for the APU in the near future.
There's still the APU2 available. 3 Intel NICs and AES-NI implemented. You can even choose a version with 4GB Ram.
Get a Gold subscription to support the project along with the APUs. Isn't it great to have a choice?
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.

Offline Gil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2017, 12:32:10 am »
Perfect plan.
Thanks for the tip.
11 cheers for binary

Offline revengineer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2017, 07:24:31 am »
They were supposed to be official appliances, however due the HDMI bug that would take too long to fix in FreeBSD we were forced to sell hardware only. Read here https://www.netgate.com/blog/introducing-sg-2320-and-sg-2340-appliances.html

I have quad core model, pfSense works perfect on it. It's even recognized as SG-2340 or SG-2320 as pfSense.
Can you elaborate (or give a link) on what the HDMI issue is? The netgate post is vague and describes the issue as a show-stopper. However, you seem to have it running pfsense well.

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2404
  • Karma: +144/-14
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2017, 10:47:07 am »
You cannot use the HDMI port to output video with FreeBSD. Other than that the device should work.
But you can't sell it commercially if an anvailable port isn't working or gives troubles.
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21312
  • Karma: +1423/-26
    • View Profile
Re: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2017, 08:44:48 am »
You cannot use the HDMI port to output video with FreeBSD. Other than that the device should work.
But you can't sell it commercially if an anvailable port isn't working or gives troubles.

Not quite. The HDMI port works fine so long as the monitor is plugged in at boot time.

What you can't do is boot headless and then attach a monitor later to reach the console after the system is up and running. It won't have video output until the hardware is rebooted.

If you don't care about that, or have it plugged into a KVM or HDMI switch then it's a moot point, but it was enough for us to not sell it as a firewall device directly.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline revengineer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2017, 02:09:49 pm »
Thank you for the details re the HDMI connection.

Offline Gil

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2017, 03:36:06 pm »
For my circumstances I would be happy to accept the HDMI / Free BSD issue. But the MT devices are relatively large and only have 2 x NICs.
I still believe that Netgate has a gap in supported devices, which lies between the SG-1000 and the SG-3100.
The APU2 appears to fill this nicely, with a small form factor, 3 x NICs, and AES-NI support.
It will run the community version of pfSense (at least up to v2.5) and it seems that you can also purchase gold support for it --??

Netgate used to sell APU devices with the Netgate brand. Is there a reason why they could not do this with APU2 devices?
Is it a commercial hurdle with PC Engines?

11 cheers for binary

Offline ivor

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 586
  • Karma: +134/-125
    • View Profile
    • Netgate
Re: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2017, 04:47:46 pm »
Relatively large?  I'm having trouble understanding where exactly you want to deploy these devices. I would understand if it's space station or a submarine, but Minnowboard is not relatively large, it's very small.
Need help fast? Commercial support: https://www.netgate.com/support/

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2404
  • Karma: +144/-14
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: SG-1000 <--> SG-3100 ..... Gap
« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2017, 09:28:37 pm »
ROTFL


Netgate used to sell APU devices with the Netgate brand.
And now they sell devices built to their specs from ADI engineering.

You will almost always want a device with just one more port. Been there, done that.
I'd personally use a managed switch with VLANs and "one more" will end at VLAN ID 4096...
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.