Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page  (Read 748 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline luke1018

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« on: November 16, 2017, 02:11:05 am »
Hi, I am trying to install the PFsense on my local PC but I am not able to open the admin panel using my local browser. Hope to seek assistance here. Below is my setup.

PFsense version 2.4.0 (Running on VMware)

Windows 10 to run the admin panel.

I have difficulties setting the WAN and LAN IP Addresses. May I know what determines these settings? How do I know what is to set under WAN and which is for LAN?

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9825
  • Karma: +1111/-311
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2017, 03:56:06 am »
Look at the console after installation. It will tell you what NIC is what and what the addresses are.

pfSense defaults to 192.168.1.1 on LAN with a DHCP server running. Match that and connect on the same layer 2 network and navigate to https://192.168.1.1/
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline luke1018

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2017, 07:22:47 pm »
Hi Derelict. Thanks for the reply. It just confused me. I have the following settings

WAN --> em0 --> DHCP 10.0.2.15/24
LAN --> em1 --> 192.168.1.1/24

In this setting, does it means that I can use my local browser (Chrome / Firefox) to browse to this address at 192.168.1.1 to login the admin panel?

Do I need to make any configuration to create a secure channel for my local PC to communicate to the PFsense server which installed on the VMware?

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4995
  • Karma: +199/-43
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2017, 07:26:15 pm »
I remember the good old days when every time I plugged in or unplugged a cord to any interface on pfsense it would throw a message to the console "em0 is up"  or "em0 went down", or something to that effect.  Made things very simple for us slow people.

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9825
  • Karma: +1111/-311
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2017, 07:27:03 pm »
So put something on the same layer 2 network as em1, which should be the second virtual NIC you assigned to the VM.

Address it on the same layer 3 network (like 192.168.1.100/24)

Connect to https://192.168.1.1/

Username: admin
Password: pfsense
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9825
  • Karma: +1111/-311
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2017, 07:27:33 pm »
@kejianshi VM NICs are always up, in general, so....
« Last Edit: November 16, 2017, 07:39:33 pm by Derelict »
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4995
  • Karma: +199/-43
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2017, 07:34:27 pm »
Depends on the hypervisor.  Some yes, some no.  With virtual box, you can connect and disconnect "cables". 

Anyway, this is a VM?  I haven't had my cup of coffee yet so I may have missed something. 

Edit " PFsense server which installed on the VMware?"  Missed it. 

Hmmmmm.   Which vmware?

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9825
  • Karma: +1111/-311
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2017, 07:38:26 pm »
I'm used to XenServer. "Unplugging" NICs is problematic but it works great in general.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4995
  • Karma: +199/-43
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2017, 07:42:23 pm »
Well, I was just wondering if this guy was using something free and simple like vmplayer, which can make reaching your LAN address a pain.

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9825
  • Karma: +1111/-311
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2017, 07:44:27 pm »
Hard to say. People have enough trouble with pfSense in general, and that is not to fault pfSense at all. They lack a basic understanding of what is required to run a firewall. Then they toss a virtual environment in there and come here...

It gets tiresome....
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4995
  • Karma: +199/-43
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #10 on: November 16, 2017, 07:51:48 pm »
I resemble that remark! 

Offline luke1018

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2017, 09:39:03 pm »
Well, I was just wondering if this guy was using something free and simple like vmplayer, which can make reaching your LAN address a pain.

Hi, yes I am currently using the Oracle VM Virtual Box to install PFsense. I am trying to test out how does all these works. Am I able to create a test environment using these free platforms? Regarding the plug-in and unplugging the cables, for my case i think is just enabling the "Network settings" from the VirtualBox settings correct?

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4995
  • Karma: +199/-43
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2017, 09:51:58 pm »
To configure pfsense you will either need to have a virtual machine with a desktop and web browser on the same internal network as pfsense (resource heavy), or NAT to VM LAN (PITA), or disable firewall with pfctl -d command in the pfsense shell and then access via the wan address for initial setup.  I assume this is just a learning experiment?

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9825
  • Karma: +1111/-311
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #13 on: November 17, 2017, 10:46:21 am »
Another option is running playback enableallowallwan in menu option 12 then connecting to the WAN address if you have connectivity to that.

That's pretty much how I do all my lab work since all of the LAN side hosts for the testing devices are usually virtual as well. The VM lab "WAN" is actually downstream of my workstation on its own pfSense interface on my edge device.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline luke1018

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #14 on: November 19, 2017, 09:13:01 pm »
Hi, can you all share with me do I need to do any configuration in order for me to browse the PFsense admin page on my local machine?

I am installing the PFsense on the VMware on the same PC.