The pfSense Store

Author Topic: PF 2.4.1 : HIGH BANDWIDTH  (Read 200 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline binhdh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
PF 2.4.1 : HIGH BANDWIDTH
« on: November 16, 2017, 10:50:07 pm »
Hi everyone

I have a problem with Pf 2.4.1, Can you help me.
Now, i'm using Pf 2.4.1 with Quagga_OSPF 0.6.20_1 as a firewall in my network.
This morning, network in my company is slow. When i check in monitoring, i saw that my bandwidth out to the internet was very hight.
I came to Diagnostic -> States and saw a strange IPs : VLXX - tcp - 1.1.1.1:xxx -> 1.1.1.3:xxx. When i kill this states, everything OK.
But after 4 - 5 minutes, the problem came back  :'(

Appolozie about my English.

Any body can help me !
Thanks.


Offline chpalmer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1758
  • Karma: +93/-3
    • View Profile
    • Home of Cablenut
Re: PF 2.4.1 : HIGH BANDWIDTH
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2017, 11:49:15 pm »

Do you have WIFI?
P.S. statements made by me are not necessarily condoned by the management of this fine organization.  http://badmodems.com

Offline binhdh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: PF 2.4.1 : HIGH BANDWIDTH
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2017, 12:55:28 am »

Do you have WIFI?

Yes, How about it bro ?

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14397
  • Karma: +1334/-199
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: PF 2.4.1 : HIGH BANDWIDTH
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2017, 04:43:38 am »
1.1.1.1 is typical ip used in cisco for the captive portal..

So states from such an IP would point to that as your problem.. Its really bad practice to leave it using that IP if you ask me.. That is reserved IP range and shouldn't really be used in such a setup.  1.1.1.1 was handed off to apnic long time ago.. They could hand that out whenever even though currently they listed it as testing network..

Its better to change that to a rfc1918 address that you do not use in your network or even a rfc3330 special use IPv4..

But if your seeing odd traffic from 1.1.1.1 it would point cisco or maybe other wireless controller doing something funky..
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.3.4_p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE (home)

Offline binhdh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: PF 2.4.1 : HIGH BANDWIDTH
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2017, 01:24:41 am »
1.1.1.1 is typical ip used in cisco for the captive portal..

So states from such an IP would point to that as your problem.. Its really bad practice to leave it using that IP if you ask me.. That is reserved IP range and shouldn't really be used in such a setup.  1.1.1.1 was handed off to apnic long time ago.. They could hand that out whenever even though currently they listed it as testing network..

Its better to change that to a rfc1918 address that you do not use in your network or even a rfc3330 special use IPv4..

But if your seeing odd traffic from 1.1.1.1 it would point cisco or maybe other wireless controller doing something funky..
Thanks so much !