Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: new latency every 30 seconds with 2.4.2 caused by radvd 2.17_3  (Read 394 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tcsac

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
new latency every 30 seconds with 2.4.2 caused by radvd 2.17_3
« on: November 24, 2017, 07:37:51 pm »
I've noticed since upgrading to 2.4.2 that I'm getting nasty latency spikes almost exactly every 30 seconds.  I've tried hitting the firewall internal IP from multiple hosts, and they all see the same behavior (I've got 3 VLANs and the IP on each VLAN exhibits the same thing).  Pings between hosts on the same subnet do not see this behavior, however pings that cross subnets (and have to go through the router) do.  The spikes are really nasty too, 300ms+ on most occasions.

Anyone else seeing similar behavior?  It's made my network almost unusable for anything WAN facing.

I'm running a Supermicro SYS-5018D-FN4T with a Chelsio T520-CR if that makes a difference.  Again, this *JUST* started after updating to 2.4.2, 0 issues with prior versions of PFsense.

Happy to grab logs if they'd help, but I don't see anything obvious.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2017, 09:14:35 am by tcsac »

Offline tcsac

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: new latency every 30 seconds with 2.4.2
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2017, 08:16:19 pm »
I guess I'll reply to my own, I've narrowed it down - every time there is a latency spike, RADVD jumps up to 30% CPU usage, so I think I've found the culprit, now the question is what changed in 2.4.2 that might be causing that behavior?  I'm assuming radvd is running for an he.net ipv6 tunnel I use.

I see the radvd version changed with the upgrade, I think I'm closing in on the issue at least :)

Nov 21 21:56:30   kernel      radvd: 1.9.1 -> 2.17_3 [pfSense]
Nov 21 21:56:57   radvd   76672   version 2.17 started


**so I'm not spamming here, I'll just reply to this.  Killing radvd stopped all of my issues.  I'm going to leave it down for now - I can live without IPv6 for the moment - let me know what else I can provide to help the troubleshooting.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2017, 08:30:55 pm by tcsac »

Offline tcsac

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: new latency every 30 seconds with 2.4.2 caused by radvd 2.17_3
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2017, 12:25:52 am »
*bump* - anybody?

Offline tcsac

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: new latency every 30 seconds with 2.4.2 caused by radvd 2.17_3
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2017, 09:58:37 pm »
Alright, so I'm hoping someone from the netgate crew can help me understand protocol here.  I've seen REPEATEDLY people get flamed for posting to the bug tracker without posting an issue on the forum first.  I track down almost exactly where the issue resides and post it on the forum and get nothing but crickets.  Not so much as a "hey, give us X log" from anyone from netgate.  This is a very easily reproducible issue, I can literally downgrade, have it go away, upgrade and it re-appears issue.  So what are the steps to getting this fixed?  This is feeling like a Plex issue at this point... aka: acknowledged as broken but nobody cares enough to bother fixing it.

Offline chpalmer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1824
  • Karma: +96/-3
    • View Profile
    • Home of Cablenut
Re: new latency every 30 seconds with 2.4.2 caused by radvd 2.17_3
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2017, 10:08:43 pm »
Im not seeing this. And with the lack of response Im guessing nobody else is either.

Talk more about your total network.   No Puma equipped cable modems do ya?

P.S. statements made by me are not necessarily condoned by the management of this fine organization.  http://badmodems.com

Offline tcsac

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: new latency every 30 seconds with 2.4.2 caused by radvd 2.17_3
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2017, 09:17:29 am »
PFsense directly attached to a pair of ADSL modems that are in bridge mode (Netgear 7550).  I won't say the rest of the network is irrelevant, but it's kind of irrelevant given the behavior exists even directly attached to the pfsense box.