pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: RESOLVED - IPv6 tunnel offline - sendto error: 13 in logs  (Read 81 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline reisender

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
RESOLVED - IPv6 tunnel offline - sendto error: 13 in logs
« on: December 10, 2017, 01:13:44 pm »
I am attempting to setup a Hurricane Electric (HE) IPv6 tunnel, but have not been successful.  I'll admit I don't have a true need for the tunnel right now, but I want to learn more about configuring IPv6 and thought this sounded like a good place to start.  I don't have all of the pieces of the puzzle, but I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

I am using pfSense 2.4.2.  I set up the (HE) tunnel on their website.  The HE website confirmed that it is able to ping my public IP address, so I believe that is setup correctly.  I followed the guide found here:  https://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Using_IPv6_with_a_Tunnel_Broker

It fails when I get to the step that says the gateway should be listed as online.  The gateway logs shows the following entry twice per second:

Dec 10 21:06:48    dpinger       HE_v6 2001:4860:4860::8888: sendto error: 13
Dec 10 21:06:48    dpinger       HE_v6 2001:4860:4860::8888: sendto error: 13
Dec 10 21:06:47    dpinger       HE_v6 2001:4860:4860::8888: sendto error: 13
Dec 10 21:06:47    dpinger       HE_v6 2001:4860:4860::8888: sendto error: 13
Dec 10 21:06:46    dpinger       HE_v6 2001:4860:4860::8888: sendto error: 13
Dec 10 21:06:46    dpinger       HE_v6 2001:4860:4860::8888: sendto error: 13

I attached screenshots of my configuration.

I searched for the meaning of sendto error: 13, but didn't find anything. 

Any suggestions on where I messed up?
« Last Edit: December 11, 2017, 11:39:13 am by reisender »

Online johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14433
  • Karma: +1336/-200
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 tunnel offline - sendto error: 13 in logs
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2017, 08:09:44 am »
I see you didn't set the HE gateway as default..  Which is listed in the steps to do.. I just setup HE again this morning on my shiny new sg4860 and no issues came right up..



Why are you changing the monitor IP?  If the gateway is not set as default it would not know where to send to get to get to the IPv6 address you have set as monitor.
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.3.4_p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE (home)

Offline reisender

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 tunnel offline - sendto error: 13 in logs
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2017, 11:16:06 am »
Good catch on the default gateway.  I have now checked that box, but the tunnel still isn't coming up.

I had set the monitor IP to Google's DNS while trying to troubleshoot.  I've removed that again, still no success.

The logs still show the same error, just with a different IP.

Dec 11 19:12:00    dpinger       HE_v6 2001:470:x:xxxx::1: sendto error: 13
Dec 11 19:11:59    dpinger       HE_v6 2001:470:x:xxxx::1: sendto error: 13
Dec 11 19:11:58    dpinger       HE_v6 2001:470:x:xxxx::1: sendto error: 13
Dec 11 19:11:58    dpinger       HE_v6 2001:470:x:xxxx::1: sendto error: 13
Dec 11 19:11:57    dpinger       HE_v6 2001:470:x:xxxx::1: sendto error: 13
Dec 11 19:11:57    dpinger       HE_v6 2001:470:x:xxxx::1: sendto error: 13
Dec 11 19:11:56    dpinger       HE_v6 2001:470:x:xxxx::1: sendto error: 13
Dec 11 19:11:56    dpinger       HE_v6 2001:470:x:xxxx::1: sendto error: 13

Offline reisender

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RESOLVED - IPv6 tunnel offline - sendto error: 13 in logs
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2017, 11:40:59 am »
The good news, the tunnel is now working.  I decided to do a clean install and import the backup config.  Once I did that, the tunnel came up right away.  I don't know what, but something must have been messed up in my system - which has been upgraded several times.