Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Static assigned hostnames w/ dynamic IP not registering in pfSense's DNS  (Read 192 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rrauenza

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Running 2.4.2-RELEASE.

I am running on pfSense:

* DNS Resolver
* DHCP Server

"Enable registration of DHCP client names in DNS" was unchecked in the DHCP Server.  I've checked it now, but I think it is irrelevant -- It is not at all clear if this is for the builtin pfSense DNS Resolver or for dyndns or some other external DNS server.  I *think* this is for external, because the DHCP resolver has its own two settings:

X Register DHCP static mappings in the DNS Resolver
X Register DHCP leases in the DNS Resolver

I am assigning static hostnames and client ID's to mac addresses in the DHCP Resolver -- the UI says if I don't give it an IP, it will use a dynamic one -- and it does.   But the hostname never gets registered in DNS for these hybrid dynamic IP static hostname.  My other hostnames that I assign an IP to DO get registered.

« Last Edit: November 30, 2017, 01:50:35 pm by rrauenza »

Offline 2bluesc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Static assigned hostnames w/ dynamic IP not registering in pfSense's DNS
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2017, 02:50:04 pm »
I'm experiencing the same thing as well on 2.4.2-RELEASE

On the DHCP leases the devices are listed twice: one without an IP for my static mapping via MAC address, and another with an IP.

I've forced the devices to renew the DHCP lease thinking this might help but no luck.

I expected there to be a single row for each static DHCP lease with the server allocating whatever IP it liked and updating DNS.

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2163
  • Karma: +166/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Static assigned hostnames w/ dynamic IP not registering in pfSense's DNS
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2017, 01:15:18 am »
Running 2.4.2-RELEASE.

"Enable registration of DHCP client names in DNS" was unchecked in the DHCP Server.  I've checked it now, but I think it is irrelevant -- ....
Couldn't find this on my / Services / DHCP Server / .... ?

Offline gjaltemba

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 332
  • Karma: +24/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Static assigned hostnames w/ dynamic IP not registering in pfSense's DNS
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2017, 09:06:15 am »
Running 2.4.2-RELEASE.

"Enable registration of DHCP client names in DNS" was unchecked in the DHCP Server.  I've checked it now, but I think it is irrelevant -- ....
Couldn't find this on my / Services / DHCP Server / .... ?

Did you try Other Options -> Dynamic DNS -> Advanced

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2163
  • Karma: +166/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Static assigned hostnames w/ dynamic IP not registering in pfSense's DNS
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2017, 09:39:23 am »
Did you try Other Options -> Dynamic DNS -> Advanced
That option is for registration of hosts into a remote DYNDNS compatible DNS server. Probably totally not related to the question.