pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Netgate_Coreboot_Upgrade issue with XG-2758  (Read 139 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dbennett

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Netgate_Coreboot_Upgrade issue with XG-2758
« on: December 01, 2017, 12:54:08 pm »
Tried to update 2 of 4 XG-2758 and it's not working.   >:(

  • The version is reverting to a lesser firmware version
  • The serial number in the console looks like this ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒   and in the GUI ����������

Firmware update didn't work on one of my SG-4860's but I'm sure that was an INTEL ATOM core processor issue (unit was RMA'd).
When I attempt to run the update again  I get this in the GUI:

The following input errors were detected:
Coreboot update failed.
Netgate Coreboot update output
Incorrect flash image file size.
Failed to update OEM section, exiting ...
Updating flashing ...
SN: �����������z����
Serial Number Read from Flash �����������z����

I would post the logs but I have a /24 & /23 subnets on the box (all ip addresses present) so it took up most of the log that I can view in the GUI.

Needless to say I'm talking about production units here and I'm not to happy that both sites now have backups that I can't trust...

How do I resolve this issue?

Thanks for your help.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21404
  • Karma: +1437/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Netgate_Coreboot_Upgrade issue with XG-2758
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2017, 02:22:00 pm »
Looks like this: https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/8047

But you may have to contact our support team for help fixing the serial number.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline dbennett

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Netgate_Coreboot_Upgrade issue with XG-2758
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2017, 01:50:41 pm »
That link was INCREDIBLY helpful!!

Halted the box, flipped the switch off, unplugged/plugged the unit, then turned the power back on.

Problem was solved.