The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Is this setup going to work without any errors?  (Read 492 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline plikmuny

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« on: December 01, 2017, 04:43:51 pm »
Hi friends,  simply put I want to build a Chao but powerful and less watt consuming build.  Hence I came up with my own parts selection.  Can you guys review the parts and give me your feedback whether it really works or is there a better alternative one? 

AMD A4-6300, 2x 3.70GHz: CPU,  costs 27
GigaByte GA-F2A68HM-S1: Mobo, costs 36
Chieftec Compact Series IX-01B Ultra Small Form Factor Mini-ITX: case, costs  30
Mini-Box PicoPSU-90, 90W extern: power, costs 29
Mini-Box 90W universal power adapter for pico psu: costs 15
IBM i340-T4 nic card: costs 37
4GB RAM ddr3l: costs 32
64GB ssd:costs 40
Total: 246

Is it better than buying qotom mini pc or building diy kit like this?
Pls share your thoughts on my budget build.
Thanks in advance.

Offline Grimson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +28/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2017, 04:57:21 pm »
Chieftec Compact Series IX-01B Ultra Small Form Factor Mini-ITX: case, costs  30
IBM i340-T4 nic card: costs 37

That case AFAIK has no room for an expansion card.

Offline plikmuny

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2017, 01:26:26 am »
Chieftec Compact Series IX-01B Ultra Small Form Factor Mini-ITX: case, costs  30
IBM i340-T4 nic card: costs 37

That case AFAIK has no room for an expansion card.
Which case would you suggest for this combination?
When it's adjusted,  do you think it's better than qotom q350g4 with i5 4200u CPU?

Offline Grimson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +28/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2017, 08:30:10 am »
If the NIC is a low profile version: Silverstone ML9 otherwise the: Fractal Design Node 202. Those are my personal favorites, and with those you can use a normal SFX power supply.

As for the CPU performance I'd suggest to google some benchmarks and compare them.

IMHO a selfbuild system with standard parts is always preferable, as you can upgrade/replace individual parts much easier. So I would never buy these Qotom boxes and as such don't have any experience on how they perform.

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4955
  • Karma: +197/-40
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2017, 08:46:11 am »
Most people like to see if they can make their pfsense be about the same form factor as your average consumer router and run forever on 5w or so.

I'm with Grimson.

I like being able to easily pull and replace components and I don't like to wrestle with space, so I use cases that will fit just about any hardware.

I'm not too concerned with space or power requirements.  Just reliability. 

Everyone is different.  Depends on your wants and needs.

If you are like me, you can build a very nice and reliable pfsense using parts that people might pay you to cart away for them. 

Note - Bandwidth, throughput expectations and pps are a concern.  Extremely fast connections and some packages may require faster / newer hardware. 
« Last Edit: December 02, 2017, 08:51:31 am by kejianshi »

Offline johnkeates

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
  • Karma: +52/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2017, 09:00:45 am »
Unless you plan to tweak and toy with your router, this build is rather pointless. There a a lot more points where things can go wrong, yet it's not cheaper or better than a Qotom or MiniSys.

Before you build something, check this:

- What do you actually need? (PPS/bandwidth)
- What are your power requirements?
- What are your environmental requirements (space used, heat, wall mounting etc)
- What is the expected life

If you need something small, ready-to-go, cheap, low-power, and well known, you're not going to get there building something yourself.

On the other hand, if you need cheap copper multi port gigabit ethernet, and need SFP fiber in 2 years, and need heavy crypto in 3 years and need a lot of audit logging later on, and the budget isn't there to do all of it at once, then you pretty much have to build something custom and no ready-made box will suit your needs.

Also, I'd suggest going with a Celeron of Pentium series rather than AMD, not because AMD can't work, but because most custom builds use Intel, making the knowledge base on Intel-Based builds bigger than other builds. Since you are here on this forum, I suppose if you run into issues, you'll also turn up here to discuss them. If you run something other people are also running, you'll have more information and experience to draw from.

Offline plikmuny

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2017, 10:24:06 am »
That means from all your inputs my custom build is a no go right?
I want to use it for openvpn, adblock and squid at this moment for home use.  I have 50/10 vdsl connection.

I want to ask here a budget build for my needs.  Is there a one?

Offline johnkeates

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
  • Karma: +52/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2017, 10:36:41 am »
That means from all your inputs my custom build is a no go right?
I want to use it for openvpn, adblock and squid at this moment for home use.  I have 50/10 vdsl connection.

I want to ask here a budget build for my needs.  Is there a one?

It depends on your budget. With that 50/10 VDSL connection you probably can do with anything faster than the first generation i3 CPU. Maybe buying a used desktop PC with a basic 2012-type hardware setup is the cheapest option. Many people use older HP and Lenovo systems this way, and it works fine. 50/10 really isn't hard to do for any modern CPU, even with snort and VPN. Hell, it'll probably be able to saturate that without AES-NI (but you won't be able to use pfSense once 2.5 comes out, so get AES-NI!).

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4955
  • Karma: +197/-40
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2017, 10:43:32 am »
You can do it for $50 probably.  No more than $100.
Your SSD will be the most expensive thing you "need", and honestly...   You probably don't "Need" an SSD. 

AES-NI capable CPUs from 2012 and forward can handle this and can be found very cheap.  Almost free. 

Just get a couple of good and cheap intel network cards.  I can easily saturate a 60/60 connection with a AMD x4200 dual core processor.  And thats really old junk.

Or you could buy the netgate $150 machine.  That also works.

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4955
  • Karma: +197/-40
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2017, 10:47:53 am »
Anything sold in the pfsense store, starting with the SG-1000, can probably handle your needs.  Its not expensive.

However, you would also have a very hard time finding a used desktop machine made after 2012 that couldn't handle this.

Offline plikmuny

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2017, 12:41:24 pm »
If I change CPU to Intel g4400t, will it make a good setup?
Is i5 4200u better than g4400t or a custom build with g4400t or g4400 better than qotom q350g4
I want to run vpn, ad blocker and squid on a 50/10 vdsl connection.

Guide me

Offline johnkeates

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
  • Karma: +52/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2017, 05:15:32 pm »
The i5 4200u  is better.

Offline plikmuny

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2017, 11:49:00 am »
Hi, I am sure you definitely have a qotom device.
How can a 22nm cpu be better than a 14nm cpu?
Interesting for me if it's true.
Is there a heating problem with qotom i5 4200u device to run pfsense with vpn, adblock and squid apps?

Offline VAMike

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 395
  • Karma: +63/-11
    • View Profile
Re: Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2017, 01:16:28 pm »
The i5 4200u  is better.
The G4400T is better in just about every way for this application. The only reason to consider the i5-4200U is if you have a cooling budget that permits a 15W TDP chip and not a 35W TDP chip. (Or if you get one significantly cheaper than the other.)

Offline wayne622

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is this setup going to work without any errors?
« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2017, 09:24:55 pm »
Just wondering and Im sure someone will chime in....but would the Asrock J3355B work based on the needs? It can handle OpenVPN speeds 200mbps+ has AES-NI and the motherboard and cpu can be had for less than $60.