pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: How do I integrate Unifi Ac lite to Pfsense  (Read 186 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lovan6

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
How do I integrate Unifi Ac lite to Pfsense
« on: December 04, 2017, 05:29:48 pm »
I just build my new Pfsense box 2.3.5 and would like to use 2 Unifi Ac Lite. I use pfsense for 10 wifi clients (Mac, IOS devices, Thinkpad laptop)  and 3 wired Roku connected to OpenVPN on selective routing.
 

Current setup:

Bridge Fiber modem (50 Dwn/50 Up) > Pfsense (Intel i340 T4 nic, 192.168.1.0/24) > 5 port unmanaged gigabit switch > 2 Asus router as Wap.

I just want a simple setup and use Unifi Ac lite. My objectives are just to transition my off the shelf router I used before to Pfsense using one subnet.



How do I integrate Unifi Ac lite to Pfsense?

Do I need to buy a managed switch and Ubiquiti Unifi Cloud Key?

Any suggestions?


Parts list:


2 Unifi Ac lite with injector

Ubiquiti Unifi Cloud Key
 $80.00

Ubiquiti Networks PoE 48V 0.5A

$18.75

Ubiquiti US-8 Unifi Switch
 $99.09






 

« Last Edit: December 06, 2017, 08:46:48 pm by lovan6 »

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14397
  • Karma: +1334/-199
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: How do I integrate Unifi Ac lite to Pfsense
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2017, 10:40:34 pm »
If all you want is 1 ssid with all your wifi clients on the same network you do not need a managed/smart switch... If you want to have some wifi clients on 1 network, and other clients on another network/vlan then yes you would want a smart switch that does vlans.  Does not have to be a unifi switch, any smart switch will work.. Stay away from the tplink low end 105e and 108e models.  They do not allow removal of vlan 1 from ports..

Low end smart switch that seems to be working fine is.. the dlink dgs1100, show it on amazon currently for $29
D-Link 8-Port EasySmart Gigabit Ethernet Switch (DGS-1100-08)
https://www.amazon.com/D-Link-16-Port-EasySmart-Ethernet-DGS-1100-16/dp/B008ABLU2I?th=1

Unless your buying the AP in a bulk pack they come with the poe injector.. So you don't need that or a poe switch..  Nor do you need their cloud key.. You can setup the AP with just a phone ap if you do not want to run the controller.

But the controller is pretty slick with info.  But you can run it on any PC, windows, linux, os X.. Can run it on a raspberry pi if you want.  I run my on a ubuntu vm running on esxi..

But sure if you want get the unifi switch and cloud key.. But you do not need the injector unless your buying 3 pack of the AP which doesn't come with the injectors... I guess they figure anyone buying multi pack is using them in a poe switching setup.
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.3.4_p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE (home)

Offline lovan6

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: How do I integrate Unifi Ac lite to Pfsense
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2017, 11:31:41 pm »
I am currently using NETGEAR GS305 5-Port Gigabit switch. I am not quite sure if this is sufficient enough.


https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QR6XFHQ/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1


But I have no problem getting the Dlink Switch from Amazon.

I bought 2 individual Unifi Ac lite and it comes with port injector 2 days ago. Using a phone app is easy but how do I segregate the 2.4 and 5 ghz on unifi Ac Lite? I am using an Imac with 3 bluetooth devices connected (Keyboard, Trackpad, Mouse) if I use the 2.4 band, I have problem with bluetooth devices. On 5ghz I have no problem.



So in order for this to work, Do I Just adopt the Unifi ac lite and plug this on my switch on the same subnet (192.168.1.0/24)?

Offline NogBadTheBad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 382
  • Karma: +30/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How do I integrate Unifi Ac lite to Pfsense
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2017, 06:37:45 am »
Using a phone app is easy but how do I segregate the 2.4 and 5 ghz on unifi Ac Lite? I am using an Imac with 3 bluetooth devices connected (Keyboard, Trackpad, Mouse) if I use the 2.4 band, I have problem with bluetooth devices. On 5ghz I have no problem.

From the app :-

1 select the AP

2 Configuration

3 Under Radio 2G select the SSID and disable it there.

TBH its easier connecting to the cloud key and doing it from there.

Untick enabled on this AP.

Also it might be worth enabling band steering, so the clients are forced to 5Ghz.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2017, 06:44:14 am by NogBadTheBad »

Offline NogBadTheBad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 382
  • Karma: +30/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How do I integrate Unifi Ac lite to Pfsense
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2017, 06:43:17 am »
.So in order for this to work, Do I Just adopt the Unifi ac lite and plug this on my switch on the same subnet (192.168.1.0/24)?

Should work, might be better posting on the Ubiquity forum.

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14397
  • Karma: +1334/-199
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: How do I integrate Unifi Ac lite to Pfsense
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2017, 07:06:17 am »
" I segregate the 2.4 and 5 ghz on unifi Ac Lite?"

Not clear on what your asking here?  You want 2 different networks for your 2.4 and 5.. Or you just want this imac to use only 2.4 and not 5?  You could create a SSID that is only 2.4 just for the imac to use, etc.  You can have up to 8 SSIDs as long as you don't use wireless uplinks - if you do then your limited to 4.

But with NogBadTheBad here - such questions are much better suited for the unifi forums..

If you are going to want different networks, ie 192.168.1/24 and 192.168.2/24 for different SSIDs be it specific or via dynamic vlans and such assigned from radius server then you would need vlan capable switch... But if you just want all your wifi devices on 192.168.X/24 same as your lan wired devices, etc.  Then you just connect your AP to your dumb switch and connect your pfsense lan interface to the dumb switch.. Then you can create multiple ssids where they are either just 2.4 or 5 or can be both 2.4 and 5 on the same SSID.  You can either let the client choose which they use the 2.4 or the 5 band.. Or as mentioned you could help push them to 5 with band steering feature.

Other than help in setting up the vlans and or freeradius package on pfsense to do wpa-eap or dynamic vlans any question on configuration of the AP either via the phone ap or the controller prob better suited for the unifi forums..   But under the general section we could sure try and help.. This wireless section is more geared to using internal wifi on pfsense - which blows btw ;)  Once you get the hang of it your going to love the unifi AP...
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.3.4_p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE (home)

Offline lovan6

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: How do I integrate Unifi Ac lite to Pfsense
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2017, 05:10:47 pm »
Thank you johnpoz  and NogBadTheBad you guys are truly a godsend.




Quote
Not clear on what your asking here?  You want 2 different networks for your 2.4 and 5.. Or you just want this imac to use only 2.4 and not 5?  You could create a SSID that is only 2.4 just for the imac to use, etc.  You can have up to 8 SSIDs as long as you don't use wireless uplinks - if you do then your limited to 4.



Just for clarification on why I prefer to use the 5ghz band on iMac is because Apple Bluetooth 4.0 and wifi 2.4/5ghz are integrated into 1 card on Broadcom BCM94360CD. If I connect to connect to a 2.4 band, Bluetooth trackpad and mouse gets disconnected and the cursor has a mind of its own. This has been experienced by other Apple users blaming Apple Bluetooth devices getting disconnected. Apple advises its customer to use the 5ghz band on wifi so it will not conflict with their Bluetooth. this is  the reason why I ask the forum how to segregate the 2.4/5 GHz band on unifi ap.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2017, 05:28:28 pm by lovan6 »

Offline lovan6

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: How do I integrate Unifi Ac lite to Pfsense
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2017, 05:25:50 pm »
.So in order for this to work, Do I Just adopt the Unifi ac lite and plug this on my switch on the same subnet (192.168.1.0/24)?

Should work, might be better posting on the Ubiquity forum.


Ubiquiti has their own ecosystem and they want you to use their own. You guys are more experience integrating Unifi to pfsense.

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14397
  • Karma: +1334/-199
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: How do I integrate Unifi Ac lite to Pfsense
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2017, 04:22:04 am »
And there is no integration...  pfsense doesn't give 2 shits what your AP does.. Or how it does it... There is ZERO to do with pfsense... 

Pfsense doesn't know if wifi client or wired - doesn't know what SSID you connected to, be it 2.4 or 5ghz, etc..

There is ZERO to do on pfsense to get your AP to work... The only thing you would have to know is if your going to use vlan and what the IDs are so you could setup those networks on pfsense..   But that is more on your AP then pfsense.

Pfsense would do the same setting be it wired vlan or wireless vlan, etc.
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.3.4_p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE (home)