pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: cam status unconditionally re-queue request  (Read 91 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NollipfSense

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
cam status unconditionally re-queue request
« on: December 04, 2017, 07:00:16 pm »
Brand-new Seagate SATA 3 500GB hard drive installed then booted the machine to format the drive UFS...got "cam status unconditionally re-queue request." So, I took the drive out to format on my MacBook Pro to a GUID partition map with MSDOS and noticed in Disk Utility that SMART status was unsupported...does that mean I cannot use the new drive just bought for log storage?

The machine has a 16GB SSD with PFSense 2.4...it hasn't completed the booting process as it keeps trying.

Also, what is the official method to formatting new drive and when that is completed, how do I transfer user logs to the new drive?

Offline NollipfSense

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: cam status unconditionally re-queue request
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2017, 12:56:40 pm »
No one?  Most important, does getting "cam status unconditionally re-queue request" means the brand-new isn't good?

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2152
  • Karma: +165/-9
    • View Profile
Re: cam status unconditionally re-queue request
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2017, 01:57:01 pm »
Google :
.... "cam status unconditionally re-queue request" ....
Saw wrong partitioned drives (using ZFS) and mostly dead drives, even new ones.
also : Take your drive on a long S.MA.R.T. walk.

Offline NollipfSense

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: cam status unconditionally re-queue request
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2017, 06:13:17 pm »
Google :
.... "cam status unconditionally re-queue request" ....
Saw wrong partitioned drives (using ZFS) and mostly dead drives, even new ones.
also : Take your drive on a long S.MA.R.T. walk.

Thank you for responding...it turned out that the new cable was bad...I just replaced it with another new SATA 3 cable...all is good.