pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: SG-3100  (Read 215 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline craigpf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
SG-3100
« on: December 04, 2017, 07:08:26 pm »
Hi, I'm unsuccessfully trying to get into Netgate SG-3100.  I'm clearly doing something stupid, just not sure what.  Here's sequence of events:

* Nothing connected to Netgate SG-3100.  Cycle power, wait for diamond LED to pulse
* Hold reset button 10 seconds, wait for diamond LED to pulse
* PC configured for DHCP
* Connect PC to Netgate port LAN 1 with known good cable
    * ipconfig shows IP address assigned to PC as 169.254.8.53
    * Arp -a shows nothing for Netgate, only
        * 169.254.255.255, and
        * Local addresses (224.0.0.x, etc)
* Change PC IP address to static 192.169.1.37, via control panel/properties
    * No change to arp table, no connection to netgate
    * Change PC back to DHCP
* Change to Netgate port LAN2
    * No change

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9221
  • Karma: +1048/-308
    • View Profile
Re: SG-3100
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2017, 07:18:29 pm »
Please connect the serial console and see what is shown there:

https://www.netgate.com/docs/pfsense/sg-3100/connect-to-console.html
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline craigpf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SG-3100
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2017, 11:42:00 pm »
Thank you very much Derelict.  That worked perfectly and was also THE most polite RTFM ever.  Much appreciated.

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9221
  • Karma: +1048/-308
    • View Profile
Re: SG-3100
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2017, 02:03:03 pm »
So you got it worked out? What was it?
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline craigpf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SG-3100
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2017, 06:27:06 pm »
Yep, all good.  Not sure what the original problem source was, but am sure that once I went in via console, reset and reconfigured, it was receptive and behaved as expected.  Thx for the follow up!