pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem  (Read 492 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rangarajan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« on: December 06, 2017, 02:11:13 am »
Dear Team,  i have installed pfsense firewall version 2.3.5 yesterday ,  situation is my pfsense ssetup is  >ISP > MODEM > PFSENSE FIREWALL > CISCO SWITCH > ALL OTHER DEVICES  prooblem is pfsense coul detecct LAN interface automatically but unable to recognise WAN interface ip as well as i am able to ping 127.0.0.1 and default gateway of assigned LAN ip 192.168.1.1 apart from it i am unable to ping DNS 8.8.8.8 as well as locally with ip ranging from 192.168.1.5 to 192.168.1.253 which was assigned by me in basic pfsense setup .  can any one please help me in this issue .  Thank you

Offline droeders

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2017, 02:18:56 pm »
Did you reboot the modem from your ISP after connecting it to your pfSense WAN interface?

Offline rangarajan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2017, 10:17:16 pm »
yeah !  then also WAN interface is not detected automatically could you help me in this case

Offline droeders

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2017, 01:17:03 pm »
There are lots of reasons why this could be failing, but you're not giving us enough information to help you.  In general, please provide as much information as possible, even if you don't think it's relevant.

What type of internet connection to you have?

Has this internet connection worked with other firewalls/routers?

Is the modem hooked directly to your pfSense machine via ethernet or is a switch involved?

Have you tested this with known good network cables?

Please tell us what hardware you're using, and in particular, what kind of network interface cards you have?

The more information the better...


Offline rangarajan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2017, 03:05:07 am »
we have broadband cable modem with type DHCP ,

yes from cable modem to laptop directly it worked , where as in case if i try from  cable modem to pfsesne firewall its not pinging by default gateway of cable modem as well as DNS server of google 8.8.8.8 ping request also failed

But from pfsense LAN interface when i connect to LAPTOP directly i can access pfsense web gui.

cable modem is directly hooked to pfsense WAN interface later from pfsense LAN interface i am trying to connect to switch

yes , i have tested with good working condition RJ 45 cable

i am using "hp thin client t5740" as pfsense firewall in my setup

i do have one WAN interface card in t as well as two LAN interface card in it.

please try to help me in this . 

Offline marjohn56

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 545
  • Karma: +53/-2
    • View Profile
Re: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2017, 03:25:53 am »
OK.

When you connect your laptop directly to the ISP Router, it works. What is the LAN IP address of he ISP Router?
pfSense 2.4.3 on Qotom Q355G4 or APU2C4 - Billion 8800NL (bridge) - ISP Zen U.K.
Please do not PM me for help. I have a life to live too.

Offline rangarajan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2017, 03:31:20 am »
When i try to connect my Laptop directly to ISP Modem it works fine i can able to ping default GW 192.168.1.251 and DNS server 8.8.8.8, Apart from it the LAN ip is 192.168.1.197

Offline marjohn56

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 545
  • Karma: +53/-2
    • View Profile
Re: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« Reply #7 on: December 08, 2017, 03:36:08 am »
And that is why pfSense does not work.

By default PFSense sets it's LAN network to the 192.168.1.* range, you cannot have that range on both the LAN and WAN interfaces.

You need to go back to the shell menu of pfSense,Option 2, and change the LAN address and DHCP range to 192.168.2.*

pfSense 2.4.3 on Qotom Q355G4 or APU2C4 - Billion 8800NL (bridge) - ISP Zen U.K.
Please do not PM me for help. I have a life to live too.

Offline rangarajan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2017, 03:41:12 am »
just a moment am  working on it , thanks for this information i like it

Offline rangarajan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2017, 04:01:50 am »
hey despite of changing pfsense LAN ip to 192.168.2.* i cant access it in web gui (pfsense) from the system comming under cisco switch connection

cable modem (192.168.1.251)> pfsense (192.168.2.1)> cisco switch(smart switch) > other system.(192.168.1.*)

from above i am unable to access pfsense web gui from systems under cisso switch(managed one).

Offline marjohn56

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 545
  • Karma: +53/-2
    • View Profile
Re: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2017, 04:24:50 am »
I said, connect directly to pfSense from your Laptop, where did I say to go via the Cisco switch?

Can you connect to pfSense when connected directly from the LAN port of pfSense to your Laptop, YES OR NO?
pfSense 2.4.3 on Qotom Q355G4 or APU2C4 - Billion 8800NL (bridge) - ISP Zen U.K.
Please do not PM me for help. I have a life to live too.

Offline rangarajan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2017, 04:34:46 am »
yes , i can directly connect pfsense with LAN port of laptop i get DNS server as 192.168.2.1 and IP V4 of laptop as 192.168.2.2 , Here 192.168.2.1 is the LAN ip assigned in shell prompt of pfsense .

Offline marjohn56

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 545
  • Karma: +53/-2
    • View Profile
Re: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2017, 04:36:46 am »
Good. Now connect the WAN port of pfSense to the ISP router.
pfSense 2.4.3 on Qotom Q355G4 or APU2C4 - Billion 8800NL (bridge) - ISP Zen U.K.
Please do not PM me for help. I have a life to live too.

Offline rangarajan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2017, 04:41:37 am »
yeah , did as directed but WAN ip is not detecting automatically as well as i couldn't ping 8.8.8.8 DNS server of google from laptop command prompt ?

Offline marjohn56

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 545
  • Karma: +53/-2
    • View Profile
Re: PFSENSE couldnt get WAN ip from modem
« Reply #14 on: December 08, 2017, 04:44:06 am »
OK, leave the WAN connected, and go into the pfSense Web interface, What does it show as the IP address of the WAN interface?
pfSense 2.4.3 on Qotom Q355G4 or APU2C4 - Billion 8800NL (bridge) - ISP Zen U.K.
Please do not PM me for help. I have a life to live too.