Netgate Store

Author Topic: Having problems with installation  (Read 1127 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Having problems with installation
« on: December 06, 2017, 02:42:03 pm »
I install PFsence and it displayed a menu in dos and I can't get past this. I can't even exit out of it only by turning off the computer. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2696
  • Karma: +218/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2017, 03:03:39 pm »
I install PFsence and it displayed a menu in dos and I can't get past this. I can't even exit out of it only by turning off the computer. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?
Hi !

Possible that you make us see what you see ?
Btw : keyboard works ?
Also : when you see 'dos' then you're not looking at the right screen  :)

Offline KOM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5937
  • Karma: +724/-24
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2017, 03:34:55 pm »
Nobody has a clue with the level of detail you have provided.  Try a screenshot and/or any error messages you saw, plus any actions you took and the results.

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2017, 04:11:43 am »
I install PFsence and it displayed a menu in dos and I can't get past this. I can't even exit out of it only by turning off the computer. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?

I suggest the first thing you do is to view some youtube videos on setting up pfSense. You are looking at the shell menu by the sound of your post, you need to move onto the Web interface to complete the setup..

There are many videos, here's one to start you off.

The install in the video is on a virtual machine, but it's the same procedure for physical hardware.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cXSsr65kttw

Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2017, 02:52:15 pm »
In that video he is using  VN. I installed it and it erased everything to install Pf sence.  The point that I am at is the last screen menu before he log onto the PFsence main menu, how do I get the internet up and put in 192.168.0.1?

Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2017, 02:56:12 pm »
How do I do  print screen so I c so you guys what I am talking about?  The only thing on the drive is PFsence nothing else.

Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2017, 03:16:21 pm »
Here is the last screen that I cannot get past.

Offline Grimson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 476
  • Karma: +68/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2017, 03:49:10 pm »
Here is the last screen that I cannot get past.

What do you mean you cannot get past, that's the console. Connect a computer to the LAN interface and access the WebUI on 192.168.1.1 to continue the configuration, also RTFM.

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2017, 02:40:15 am »
In that video he is using  VN. I installed it and it erased everything to install Pf sence.  The point that I am at is the last screen menu before he log onto the PFsence main menu, how do I get the internet up and put in 192.168.0.1?

I said in my post

Quote
The install in the video is on a virtual machine, but it's the same procedure for physical hardware.

There was no need to install a VM, The part you needed to follow was AFTER you have installed pfSense and it has reached the console menu.

Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2017, 12:56:56 pm »
Oh ok. I will try that. Thank you all for you help!  Merry Christmas!  If I have anymore problems I am sure you can help me, Thanks again for helping a 65 year old man.

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #10 on: December 10, 2017, 02:02:59 pm »
You've only got a few years on me. ;)

Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #11 on: December 10, 2017, 02:19:59 pm »
I tried to login to the router but it is not connecting, other problems can it be?  I am getting confused.  It says that the new pfsense is installed.

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #12 on: December 10, 2017, 02:24:07 pm »
Have a look at the terminal window again, it tells you what to enter to connect to the web interface. Usually, it's https://192.168.1.1



How are you connecting your pc to pfsense, and what hardware are you using?

Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #13 on: December 10, 2017, 02:27:07 pm »
it says https://192.168.1.1/24 but this doesn't work  there is no address for wan.

Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #14 on: December 10, 2017, 02:28:23 pm »
Should I start over and install a older version that would make it easier? I have built computers but this is the first time I am trying to build a router out of a old computer. So am I over my head in doing this or what?
« Last Edit: December 10, 2017, 02:57:43 pm by Cosmo52 »