Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Having problems with installation  (Read 925 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #15 on: December 10, 2017, 02:32:00 pm »
I am connecting Pfsense directly to the isp modem.

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #16 on: December 10, 2017, 02:32:33 pm »
No, it's fine. So enter that address without the /24

Forget the wan for now, you need to get to the Lan web interface. How have you got your pc connected to pfsense, you should be connected directly to the LAN port at this point.

Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #17 on: December 11, 2017, 01:11:48 pm »
I still can't login to Pfsense, I put the address in but couldn't connect. There is no address for wan. how do I put one in there and what should it be? Thanks for the help.

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #18 on: December 11, 2017, 01:53:18 pm »
When you connect to the Lan port of pfsense, can you tell me what the IP address of your pc is?

Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #19 on: December 11, 2017, 03:06:41 pm »
This is the IP address 192.168.0.1  ,  I finally got connected to the Pfsense router but it isn't connecting to the modem.  Is the something that I need to configure in the setup menu?  Is there a video for setting up Pfsense 2.4.2?

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #20 on: December 11, 2017, 04:28:44 pm »
What were you using previously to connect to the modem, before pfSense?

The video I gave before is from an earlier version, but the principle is the same.


Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #21 on: December 12, 2017, 02:46:04 pm »
I am using modem, old router to my computer and it works fine except it disconnects at times.

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #22 on: December 12, 2017, 02:55:25 pm »
Ok, so what are the want settings in the old router?

Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #23 on: December 12, 2017, 03:49:41 pm »
Name:   Ethernet
Description:   Intel(R) 82579V Gigabit Network Connection
Physical address (MAC):   30:85:a9:ae:85:f2
Status:   Operational
Maximum transmission unit:   1500
Link speed (Receive/Transmit):   1000/1000 (Mbps)
DHCP enabled:   Yes
DHCP servers:   192.168.0.1
DHCP lease obtained:   ?Monday, ?December ?11, ?2017 2:53:42 PM
DHCP lease expires:   ?Tuesday, ?December ?12, ?2017 2:53:42 PM
IPv4 address:   192.168.0.198/24
IPv6 address:   
Default gateway:   192.168.0.1
DNS servers:   192.168.0.1
DNS domain name:   
DNS connection suffix:   
DNS search suffix list:   
Network name:   Network  7
Network category:   Private
Connectivity (IPv4/IPv6):   Connected to Internet / Connected to unknown network
                                      
                                      
Name:   Wi-Fi
Description:   Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter
Physical address (MAC):   dc:85:de:59:ba:fa
Status:   Not operational
Maximum transmission unit:   1500
IPv4 address:   169.254.168.10/16
IPv6 address:   fe80::c9c6:5192:5e2:a80a%15/64
DNS servers:   fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1, fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1, fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
Connectivity (IPv4/IPv6):   Disconnected
                                      
                                      
Name:   Local Area Connection* 11
Description:   Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
Physical address (MAC):   de:85:de:59:ba:fa
Status:   Not operational
Maximum transmission unit:   1500
IPv4 address:   169.254.161.131/16
IPv6 address:   fe80::4da5:a969:845f:a183%9/64
DNS servers:   fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1, fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1, fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
Connectivity (IPv4/IPv6):   Disconnected
                                      
                                      
Name:   Bluetooth Network Connection
Description:   Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical address (MAC):   94:db:c9:e3:41:f9
Status:   Not Present
Maximum transmission unit:   0
Connectivity (IPv4/IPv6):   Disconnected
                                      

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #24 on: December 12, 2017, 04:24:06 pm »
That appears to be the information from your laptop, not from your existing router.

If you wish to replace your existing router with pfsense you will need to know what settings the existing router is using on its wan interface to talk to the  ISP's modem.

To get that information you will need to log into the existing router and examine its wan settings.

Who is your ISP, and what make is the modem?

Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #25 on: December 13, 2017, 12:52:58 pm »
My ISP is Mediacom, my router that and connected to the internet is a DLink.

Connection Type :DHCP Client

QoS Engine : Active

Cable Status :Connected

Network Status :Established

Connection Up Time :0 Day 23 Hour 22 Min 44 Sec

 Renew  Release
MAC Address :00:26:5A:C8:C8:82

IP Address :173.29.33.54

Subnet Mask :255.255.252.0

Default Gateway :173.29.32.1

Primary DNS Server :108.166.149.2

Secondary DNS Server :108.166.149.3

Advanced DNS :

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #26 on: December 13, 2017, 04:08:45 pm »
Good.

Now login to pfSense, Along the top menu is an option interfaces, click on that and select WAN.

The IPv4 Configuration type should be set to DHCP. Copy the mac address you saw in the DLINK into the MAC address in the WAN interface below the IPv4 and IPv6 Configuration types.

Scroll to the bottom of the page and select save.

Now , unplug the WAN interface cable from the Dlink and plug it into the WAN interface on pfSense, click on the pfSense logo on the upper left, it will take you back to the dashboard. You should see an interfaces widget, usually upper right that should now be showing Green UP arrows and a WAN address.

Now tell us what you see.
 


Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #27 on: December 14, 2017, 12:27:57 pm »
I did as you said and it still is not connected to the internet.  The widget shows wan is red.

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #28 on: December 14, 2017, 12:34:01 pm »
Go to interfaces-> Assignments and do a screen grab and post the image so we can see what it's showing.

Offline Cosmo52

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Having problems with installation
« Reply #29 on: December 14, 2017, 02:30:39 pm »
I think this is what you want.