pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Pfsense basic setup issues  (Read 360 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rangarajan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Pfsense basic setup issues
« on: December 07, 2017, 01:43:50 am »
Dear Team,

hi , i am here by addressing the issue that i have made the successfull pfsense setup .

ISP > MODEM > PFSENSE > CISCO SWITCH > PC , where as in this case i cant get WAN ip automatically from ISP despite of  my connection being in DHCP mode .

on other hand LAN interface ip of pfsense 192.168.1.1  PFSENSE > CISCO SWITCH > PC,  which can not be reached by pc (Even ping request fails) wise versa from pfsense shell prompt i can't reach my pc

But from PFSENSE > LAN > LAPTOP directly connected without any switch in between i can assess PFSENSE web gui with 192.168.1.1

What will be the nature of issue for not getting WAN IP
Whether there will be problem in CISCO switch blocking pfsense to pc interaction

please help me in this case 

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14466
  • Karma: +1339/-200
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense basic setup issues
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2017, 03:54:29 am »
What is your wan connection?  If its a cable modem for example you most likely have to reboot it when you change the device connected to it.. Because it caches the mac of the device it was working with, and normally does not work with a different mac.. So you have to reboot them - or set the new device to use the same mac as your previous device.

As to the switch - is it managed?  What is the model of the switch?  If its s smart/managed switch more then likely you do not have the ports configured correctly where you plugging it into pfsense or and your device(s) that are trying to talk to pfsense.

Or maybe the switch is just bad?  Or maybe its a 10/100 and you have pfsense interface hard coded gig?  With the amount of info given its really impossible to say what the problem is..
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.3.4_p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (home)

Offline rangarajan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense basic setup issues
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2017, 04:04:41 am »
my wan connection is DHCP type and cable modem i have restarted thrice but its not providing wan ip for pfsense ,

should i update my pfsense mac id by log in to cable modem  ?  so that it release the wan ip ?

coming to switch it is cisco SD 2005 ver.3 5-port 10/100/10000 switch model , i am unaware of managed or UN-managed

do i need to configure ports in cisco switch 

thank you


Offline marjohn56

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 545
  • Karma: +53/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense basic setup issues
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2017, 04:26:43 am »
It's an un-managed switch, so it should just work.You should just be able to plug the lan connection of pfSense into the switch and your laptop into the switch and it should work, if you cannot ping pfSense from the laptop when connected via the switch, and you can when connected directly then the switch is not working correctly.

As for your WAN issue, you have not given sufficient information for anyone to help you.

pfSense 2.4.3 on Qotom Q355G4 or APU2C4 - Billion 8800NL (bridge) - ISP Zen U.K.
Please do not PM me for help. I have a life to live too.

Offline rangarajan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense basic setup issues
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2017, 05:40:03 am »
but when i acess LAN gateway 192.168.1.1 from laptop via switch its not working , Even i tried connecting laptop directly to pfsense LAN interface

when i try to ping the 192.168.1.1 i do get destination host unreachable

WAN its cable modem type and DHCP connection pfsense its not detecting wan ip automatically what would be the cause

Offline marjohn56

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 545
  • Karma: +53/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense basic setup issues
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2017, 05:52:02 am »
There could be dozens of reasons why you're WAN is not getting an IP, just saying why doesn't it work is not going to get you an answer.

You said in an earlier message you CAN ping pfSense when connected directly to it, now you are saying you cannot, which is it?

pfSense 2.4.3 on Qotom Q355G4 or APU2C4 - Billion 8800NL (bridge) - ISP Zen U.K.
Please do not PM me for help. I have a life to live too.

Offline rangarajan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense basic setup issues
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2017, 05:54:29 am »
yes earlier i could ping as well as login to 192.168.1.1 but where as now i am unable to do both ping as well  as  login to URL , please help me

Offline marjohn56

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 545
  • Karma: +53/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense basic setup issues
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2017, 05:58:07 am »
first.

Set a static address on your Laptop, 192.168.1.50, mask 255.255.255.0, gateway leave blank.

Connect the Laptop directly to the LAN port of pfSense.

Now, try pinging 192.168.1.1
pfSense 2.4.3 on Qotom Q355G4 or APU2C4 - Billion 8800NL (bridge) - ISP Zen U.K.
Please do not PM me for help. I have a life to live too.

Offline rangarajan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense basic setup issues
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2017, 06:02:34 am »
thanks  , but i have ip already in range of  192.168.1.197 with sub net mask  of 255.255.255.0

Offline marjohn56

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 545
  • Karma: +53/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense basic setup issues
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2017, 06:04:26 am »
And connected directly to the LAN port of pfSense  you are getting no response?
pfSense 2.4.3 on Qotom Q355G4 or APU2C4 - Billion 8800NL (bridge) - ISP Zen U.K.
Please do not PM me for help. I have a life to live too.

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2157
  • Karma: +166/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense basic setup issues
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2017, 07:39:10 am »
But from PFSENSE > LAN > LAPTOP directly connected without any switch in between i can assess PFSENSE web gui with 192.168.1.1
and then
but when i acess LAN gateway 192.168.1.1 from laptop via switch its not working , Even i tried connecting laptop directly to pfsense LAN interface
when i try to ping the 192.168.1.1 i do get destination host unreachable
What is it ?
"direct" NIC PC connected to NIC LAN pfSense works, or not ?
If so, ditch switch.

WAN : pfSEnse is efusing the IP because it is also 192.168.1.1/24 ? (wild guess).
Setup LAN using 192.168.2.1/24 and retry getting IP WAN.

Offline marjohn56

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 545
  • Karma: +53/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense basic setup issues
« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2017, 07:41:48 am »
What is it ?
"direct" NIC PC connected to NIC LAN pfSense works, or not ?
If so, ditch switch.

WAN : pfSEnse is efusing the IP because it is also 192.168.1.1/24 ? (wild guess).
Setup LAN using 192.168.2.1/24 and retry getting IP WAN.

Good luck.. all yours. :)
« Last Edit: December 07, 2017, 08:26:03 am by marjohn56 »
pfSense 2.4.3 on Qotom Q355G4 or APU2C4 - Billion 8800NL (bridge) - ISP Zen U.K.
Please do not PM me for help. I have a life to live too.

Offline rangarajan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense basic setup issues
« Reply #12 on: December 07, 2017, 10:20:42 pm »
please could anyone take initiate and help out me in this case

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11914
  • Karma: +468/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense basic setup issues
« Reply #13 on: December 11, 2017, 08:29:09 am »
Locking this since you have another thread open for this:
https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=141042.0

Steve