The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Captive Portal need to auth again and again.  (Read 174 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline bear410hk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Captive Portal need to auth again and again.
« on: December 13, 2017, 08:10:37 pm »
I have a Pfsense box setup with a simple captive portal that has a terms and conditions page, an accept button and a redirect URL.  No vouchers are being used.

some mobile user(iphone and android) report when they reconnect the Wi-Fi again, that terms and conditions page show up again, they need to pass accept again to go though internet. but I saw user IP, MAC in logged in user list.

my setting of CP :

Idle time 720 minutes
No Authentication
A custom Portal Page

Pfsense Version : 2.3.4

that's all ~ I don't know why they need to authentication again. but just some device got this happen, even iOS 10, 11  and Android 6 , 7 also got this problem.

dos anyone have this happen before ?

Thanks

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2283
  • Karma: +173/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal need to auth again and again.
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2017, 04:23:45 pm »
Hi,

Need some more info :
When these devices need to reconnect, the same MAC is being used (of course), but ... is their still IP the same ?
You said :
Quote
they reconnect the Wi-Fi again
Same AP, another one ? Received the same IP ?

IF MAC & IP are the same they can not hit the portal login page, because ipfw firewall rules are letting through the connection.
So, next question :
Use this https://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Captive_Portal_Troubleshooting and check the tables to see if MAC and IP are there - they should be there, except if hard or soft time out event removes them.

Offline bear410hk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal need to auth again and again.
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2017, 09:09:04 pm »
Hi,

Need some more info :
When these devices need to reconnect, the same MAC is being used (of course), but ... is their still IP the same ?
You said :
Quote
they reconnect the Wi-Fi again
Same AP, another one ? Received the same IP ?

IF MAC & IP are the same they can not hit the portal login page, because ipfw firewall rules are letting through the connection.
So, next question :
Use this https://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Captive_Portal_Troubleshooting and check the tables to see if MAC and IP are there - they should be there, except if hard or soft time out event removes them.

Yes ~ They got the same IP using the same MAC.

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2283
  • Karma: +173/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal need to auth again and again.
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2017, 01:53:32 am »
What about this one :
......
IF MAC & IP are the same they can not hit the portal login page, because ipfw firewall rules are letting through the connection.
So, next question :
Use this https://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Captive_Portal_Troubleshooting and check the tables to see if MAC and IP are there - they should be there, except if hard or soft time out event removes them.
?