Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Is a static IP still required?  (Read 150 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tjoff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Is a static IP still required?
« on: December 14, 2017, 11:55:45 am »
Many of us only have one (dynamic) IP and no options to change that. Is CARP still possible? I know the 3 public (and static) IP restriction can now be worked around but I don't see anyone mentioning whether a static IP is still required.

I'm thinking of using the SG-1000 as a low-power + low-performance backup but if a static IP is required I better change course.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21491
  • Karma: +1458/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Is a static IP still required?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2017, 03:02:39 pm »
It still requires a static address to work properly.

If you had no other choice and do not care about a WAN-side failure triggering a CARP event, each unit could connect separately to a dynamic WAN, but it is not something we'd recommend anyone do in production.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline tjoff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is a static IP still required?
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2017, 04:00:42 am »
Thanks, not sure what that CARP event would mean in practice. If WAN is down I don't really care if pfsense would switch between the units as long as it is restored when WAN is up again.

But I'm getting the feeling that I'm introducing more ways things can fail rather than mitigating actual risks, I'll see if I can get into the network some other way and restore functionality manually when something have happened.