Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2  (Read 2881 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rickinfl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2
« on: December 17, 2017, 12:28:34 pm »
Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 but shows old version.

2.4.2-RELEASE (amd64)
built on Tue Dec 12 13:45:26 CST 2017
FreeBSD 11.1-RELEASE-p6

Version 2.4.2_1 is available.   
Version information updated at Sun Dec 17 13:25:01 EST 2017    

But when I go to upgrade it I get this;

Current Base System 2.4.2_1
Latest Base System 2.4.2_1
StatusUp to date.

And I've rebooted it a couple of times. No Change.

Offline Gil

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: +3/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2017, 02:27:47 pm »
I assume your settings are on the "Stable Release".
Was it previously on "Development"?
I had a similar issue a with v2.3.5.

11 cheers for binary

Offline Rickinfl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2017, 03:30:25 pm »
Yes. I only run the Stable Versions.  I've seen this issue before maybe they'll put a fix out for it.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21739
  • Karma: +1502/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2017, 08:04:03 am »
What does the output of "pkg info -x pfsense" show?
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline Rickinfl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2017, 07:59:03 pm »
pfSense-2.4.2
pfSense-Status_Monitoring-1.7.5
pfSense-base-2.4.2_1
pfSense-default-config-2.4.2_1
pfSense-kernel-pfSense-2.4.2_1
pfSense-pkg-apcupsd-0.3.9_3
pfSense-pkg-nmap-1.4.4_1
pfSense-pkg-nut-2.7.4_5
pfSense-pkg-openvpn-client-export-1.4.14
pfSense-pkg-pfBlockerNG-2.1.2_2
pfSense-rc-2.4.2_1
pfSense-repo-2.4.2_1
pfSense-upgrade-0.40
php56-pfSense-module-0.57

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21739
  • Karma: +1502/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2018, 10:23:43 am »
Looks like some parts of the OS did not get updated. Try running "pfSense-upgrade -d" from the command line (ssh or console) and see if that helps.

For example, a 2.4.2-p1 box should have pfSense-2.4.2_1 and yours does not.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline Rickinfl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2018, 10:42:12 am »
That fixed it!

Thank You.

Offline pr4499

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2018, 10:45:58 am »
Hey guys, I'm having a similar issue with trying to upgrade from 2.3.4 to 2.3.5.  I tried the suggestion of  running "pfSense-upgrade -d" from the command line (ssh or console), and something happened and it rebooted, but I'm still on 2.3.4. 

Any more ideas?

I've been having many issues with updates. We have 5 installations using pfSense and often the only way to help them realise that they have an update available is to go to System -> Update -> Update Settings and change it from "stable" to another option, save it, then change it back to stable again, then go back to System Update and hopefully it realises it has an update available.  This has worked a few times, but with this last one, it has not worked.

Why such a problematic update system?

Offline Dmitchell94

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2018, 02:23:32 am »
I am having a similar issue going from 2.4.1 to 2.4.2_1

pkg info -x pfsense Shows:

Code: [Select]
pfSense-2.4.1
pfSense-Status_Monitoring-1.7.3
pfSense-base-2.4.1
pfSense-default-config-2.4.1
pfSense-kernel-pfSense-2.4.2_1
pfSense-pkg-Cron-0.3.7_2
pfSense-pkg-Status_Traffic_Totals-1.2.1_2
pfSense-pkg-System_Patches-1.1.7
pfSense-pkg-bandwidthd-0.7.4_1
pfSense-pkg-squid-0.4.42
pfSense-rc-2.4.2_1
pfSense-repo-2.4.2_1
pfSense-upgrade-0.40
php56-pfSense-module-0.54

and running "pfSense-upgrade -d" did not solve the problem.

also noticed that if i changed from "latest stable version (2.4.x)" to "latest development snapshot (2.4.x DEVEL)" it said that i was up to date.

any ideas?
« Last Edit: January 09, 2018, 02:48:22 am by Dmitchell94 »

Offline pr4499

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2018, 02:34:28 pm »
Anyone?

Offline detox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2
« Reply #10 on: February 17, 2018, 06:43:03 pm »
I am having a similar issue.  I did an upgrade from 2.3 via service console

dashboard states:
2.4.2-RELEASE (amd64)
built on Tue Dec 12 13:45:26 CST 2017
FreeBSD 11.1-RELEASE-p6

Widget Netgate services and support continues to spin stating "Retrieving support information"

I also tried pfSense-upgrade -d, and it stalls at " Updating repositories metadata.

Now, I think I broke it by deleting some *.conf file on the initial upgrade as the installed recommended removing it.  I do not remember what it was.

So on the assumption I 'bricked' it, how can I reimage it?  It was purchased from Netgate ( Netgate SG-4860)
Netgate device ID: 67f61d3cb8fa0b145112


Found reference in manual to got netgate portal (I have gold membership) to DL the image.  I cannot find a link for downloading an image.

The pfSense site has a select for Netgate ADI under architecture, but I don't know if this is it or not.

Thanks for any help!

Thanks
« Last Edit: February 17, 2018, 07:14:54 pm by detox »

Offline detox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2 SOLVED
« Reply #11 on: February 18, 2018, 03:05:02 pm »
Success!

After quite a bit of Googling, I was able to find the solution.

I now have a fully functional SG-4860 again!

Once I was able to put the pieces together, the process was simple and painless.

Offline pr4499

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2
« Reply #12 on: February 18, 2018, 03:33:44 pm »
Does anyone have a solution for when it won't update either from the Web gui or the command line?

Offline Gil

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: +3/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2
« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2018, 04:02:14 pm »
Save your config, then reinstall 2.4.2-1 from scratch, then upload old config
11 cheers for binary

Offline pr4499

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Upgraded to 2.4.2_1 But still shows 2.4.2
« Reply #14 on: February 18, 2018, 06:58:45 pm »
This is a good solution, except its difficult to do remotely.

Any other ideas?