pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Can't route between subnets  (Read 167 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hypercoffeedude

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Can't route between subnets
« on: December 17, 2017, 06:43:26 pm »
Hey everyone!

I've been having a hard time getting two subnets talking to each other. I run a pfSense machine as a firewall. I have two interfaces: WAN and LAN. I have my normal everyday devices on 192.168.1.0 and I am trying to set up a second subnet of 192.168.2.0 for all of my network cameras. At some point, the idea is to block the (2.0) subnet from accessing WAN and only allow it to communicate with (1.0) this is due to the cheaper security cams that like to phone home to a cloud service somewhere. All devices on (2.0) will have static IPs.

I currently have a camera on 192.168.2.100 right now. I cannot ping it from my (1.0) devices.

So, my question is: What settings need to be changed to allow this to work? It's got me pretty confused.

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9589
  • Karma: +1087/-309
    • View Profile
Re: Can't route between subnets
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2017, 07:02:19 pm »
Yeah. Use a managed switch and VLANs for that.

Or a router with two inside (LAN) interfaces.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline hypercoffeedude

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't route between subnets
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2017, 07:08:36 pm »
I can add another physical interface which will show up as OPT1 by default. Would it be possible to accomplish it this way?

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9589
  • Karma: +1087/-309
    • View Profile
Re: Can't route between subnets
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2017, 07:09:45 pm »
Yes. Number that interface as 192.168.2.1/24, create the necessary firewall rules on that interface, and connect another switch to it.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM