Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: virgin media cannot get WAN IP  (Read 155 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jpmunroe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
virgin media cannot get WAN IP
« on: December 18, 2017, 09:26:55 am »
Hi. My ISP is Virgin Media in the UK. I have been using the supplied router in modem mode with pfsense 2.3.x behind it. Pfsense is configured with DHCP on the WAN and with my hardware router MAC. This has been working perfectly.

Upgraded to 2.4.0 - I no longer get a WAN IP. The configuration looks the same. How can I diagnose this further?

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: virgin media cannot get WAN IP
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2017, 09:33:07 am »
Packet capture on the WAN port, and see what's being sent/received.

Offline jpmunroe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: virgin media cannot get WAN IP
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2017, 12:00:16 pm »
I fixed it/mitigated.

My router is running under Hyper-V with its NIC set to allow MAC spoofing. The VM had a MAC address which was different to the router - the router one was then spoofed in pfsense, by declaring it on the WAN NIC configuration. For some reason I now have to set the actual physical MAC of the WAN NIC to the same as the router and it now works.

Interestingly, if I use a legacy NIC adapter in Hyper-V, it works the same as 2.3, However, I don't want to do this for a number of reasons, namely it's 100Mb limit.

All I was seeing in the packet capture was DHCP requests. I also found this in the system logs (hn1 being the WAN interface):

The command '/sbin/ifconfig 'hn1' media 'autoselect'' returned exit code '1', the output was 'ifconfig: SIOCSIFMEDIA (media): Operation not supported'

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: virgin media cannot get WAN IP
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2017, 02:36:16 pm »
I was thinking MAC address. :)