Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Multicast between two LANs  (Read 212 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jeffvfren

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Multicast between two LANs
« on: December 20, 2017, 12:04:00 am »
Hi all,

I have two subnet in my network, I can get multicast working in same subnet but it didn't work for cross subnet.
I think IGMP Proxy should apply for my case, anyone please provide me guidance on proper IGMP & firewall rules setup?

LAN1: 192.168.2.0/24
LAN2: 172.22.0.0/16

There is no WAN related, I just need LAN1 multicast streaming and LAN2 listening (or opposite).
I've done some test by following the post on forum, it doesn't seem to be working.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Version 2.4.2-RELEASE (amd64)
FreeBSD 11.1-RELEASE-p4

pfSense physical port: WAN1, WAN2, LAN1 & LAN2
Purpose: For IP Phone multicast paging
Test tool: VLC Media Player (Multicast Streaming)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

(It will be more good if able for point to point IPsec multicast, remote side office net 192.168.0.0/24)

Offline JKnott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1079
  • Karma: +43/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Multicast between two LANs
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2017, 06:02:28 am »
You need to learn a bit more about multicast.  Generally, it doesn't pass through routers.  When it does, it requires the client to request it.  So, first thing you have to do is determine what multicasts you want and then how to get your router to pass them.  Many "well known"multicasts are intended to be available on the local network only.

Offline jeffvfren

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multicast between two LANs
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2017, 06:24:21 am »
I'm looking for the solution of freePBX multicast paging, do you have any idea?
As my understanding, it is a RTP audio streaming.

VLC media player can do the same scenario test too (:sout=#rtp{dst=224.0.36.0,port=10000} :sout-all :sout-keep)

Offline kpa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1200
  • Karma: +133/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Multicast between two LANs
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2017, 06:55:44 am »
Generally speaking such proxies/helpers work only when run on the router, you'd need to find a way to install one on pfSense but that's going to be difficult if they have dependencies that pfSense doesn't include such as X11 libraries.

Offline JKnott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1079
  • Karma: +43/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Multicast between two LANs
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2017, 08:10:32 am »
Maybe we should be asking why you need multiple VLANs for a PBX.  Generally, you would have a VLAN for the phones and the multicast would work fine.

Offline jeffvfren

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multicast between two LANs
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2017, 09:07:41 am »
Maybe we should be asking why you need multiple VLANs for a PBX.  Generally, you would have a VLAN for the phones and the multicast would work fine.

....my network structure did not have a well design in beginning
PBX is in 192.168.2.0/24 range (physical LAN port1) and IP Phone is in 172.22.0.0/16 (physical LAN port2), in this case, we don't use of VLAN.

Only guest network separated in another VLAN range, we prefer lesser of maintaining the network switches.

Offline jeffvfren

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multicast between two LANs
« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2017, 09:11:41 am »
Generally speaking such proxies/helpers work only when run on the router, you'd need to find a way to install one on pfSense but that's going to be difficult if they have dependencies that pfSense doesn't include such as X11 libraries.

If this is the truth, we do not have to do unnecessary struggle for current network structure  :'(  :'(

Offline JKnott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1079
  • Karma: +43/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Multicast between two LANs
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2017, 09:20:57 am »
Maybe we should be asking why you need multiple VLANs for a PBX.  Generally, you would have a VLAN for the phones and the multicast would work fine.

....my network structure did not have a well design in beginning
PBX is in 192.168.2.0/24 range (physical LAN port1) and IP Phone is in 172.22.0.0/16 (physical LAN port2), in this case, we don't use of VLAN.

Only guest network separated in another VLAN range, we prefer lesser of maintaining the network switches.

It seems to me you should work on fixing your network, rather than trying to make things work in a way they weren't intended.  Get the PBX and phones on the same network and you'll solve your problem.

Offline jeffvfren

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multicast between two LANs
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2017, 09:30:28 am »
It seems to me you should work on fixing your network, rather than trying to make things work in a way they weren't intended.  Get the PBX and phones on the same network and you'll solve your problem.

Actually, I'm still satisfy with current network which work with captive portal for LAN and WiFi. Put all in same range may not what I looking for, at least for now.