pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Getting speeds much slower than gigabit on pfsense  (Read 202 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JacktheSmack

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Getting speeds much slower than gigabit on pfsense
« on: December 22, 2017, 02:19:32 pm »
I recently got gigabit internet, and when connected to the modem directly I get 950mbit/s. However, when I have pfsense as the router, I get around 350mbit/s. I have tested all the cables and switches in between, and the only bottleneck I've found is the pfsense box.

I did all the tests advised on Low Throughput Troubleshooting guide. Aside from ruling out the possibility that it was some other device, what I did find out is the idle CPU usage drops down to 28% when I reload fast.com 3 times in a row. Here it is at peak usage:



I'm using two of the Intel PWLA8391GT PRO/1000 GT PCI Network Adapter for WAN and LAN. I have no traffic shaping or limiters or other CPU things going on that I could think of that would impact performance.

I do notice I do get some CPU usage spikes on the main page, even when I'm not doing anything on the internet. Also, whenever I disable the WAN, then enable the WAN, or restart the modem, the CPU usage gets really high and the router setup page becomes unresponsive.

Specs:

System   pfSense   
Serial: dc132d55-e5e8-11e7-a6b3-001b21482275
Netgate Device ID: 7fbf5d2aa422ca375175
BIOS   Vendor: Dell Computer Corporation
Version: A05
Release Date: 02/26/2003
Version   2.3.4-RELEASE-p1 (i386)
built on Fri Jul 14 14:53:03 CDT 2017
FreeBSD 10.3-RELEASE-p19

The system is on the latest version.
Platform   pfSense
CPU Type   Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.53GHz

Please let me know if you need any more information.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2017, 02:31:54 pm by JacktheSmack »

Offline KOM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5506
  • Karma: +680/-23
    • View Profile
Re: Getting speeds much slower than gigabit on pfsense
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2017, 02:42:03 pm »
The 45% interrupt time isn't good.  Smells like hardware to me.

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14782
  • Karma: +1372/-202
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Getting speeds much slower than gigabit on pfsense
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2017, 02:43:21 pm »
What slot are you nics in?  There was just a thread about his.. Limit about the pci bandwidth..
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (home)

Offline JacktheSmack

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Getting speeds much slower than gigabit on pfsense
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2017, 03:18:55 pm »
What slot are you nics in?  There was just a thread about his.. Limit about the pci bandwidth..

I just found out it's a Dimension 4550. I had to look up a YouTube video on how to open it (lol) since it's been years.

Here is a picture of the inside. Blue cable is WAN, white cable is LAN.

https://i.imgur.com/cgJ7Vzm.jpg (pic way too large)

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14782
  • Karma: +1372/-202
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Getting speeds much slower than gigabit on pfsense
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2017, 03:32:47 pm »
Yeah those are OLD PCI slots... Very limited bus... Not going to be able to to do gig on such an old POS ;)  remember the bus is shared..
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (home)

Offline JacktheSmack

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Getting speeds much slower than gigabit on pfsense
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2017, 03:40:02 pm »
Yeah those are OLD PCI slots... Very limited bus... Not going to be able to to do gig on such an old POS ;)  remember the bus is shared..

I have a Lenovo Ideacentre k410 that I could use, with the following specs for PCI:

Specs
Expansion Slots:
1 (total) / 0 (free) x PCIe 2.0 x16 - half-length, full-height
3 (total) / 2 (free) x PCIe 2.0 x1 - half-length, full-height

Would that be enough?

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14782
  • Karma: +1372/-202
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Getting speeds much slower than gigabit on pfsense
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2017, 03:46:26 pm »
PCIe is HUGE difference... old at 2.0 and x1 but still 500MB/s. way better than your pci bus..
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (home)

Offline JacktheSmack

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Getting speeds much slower than gigabit on pfsense
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2017, 03:49:34 pm »
PCIe is HUGE difference... old at 2.0 and x1 but still 500MB/s. way better than your pci bus..

Well there goes my Friday. Thanks for all the help!  :D