Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Netflix not working on smart TV and android devices  (Read 423 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline da.brown.m1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Netflix not working on smart TV and android devices
« on: December 22, 2017, 10:38:42 pm »
Please help me before I pull the rest of my hair out  :'(

I had pfsense previously and had the same issuesam having now. Netflix wouldn't work on android devices. Hours of searching and I found a post with a suggestion to change a setting, whatever it was it fixed it then. Of course I don't remember what that was and cant find it.

Coming back to pfsense from untangle, 2.4.2 installed on SSD on Dell R210 II. Fresh install; no changes other than PPoE info, disabling IPV6 on both Wan and Lan as I have seen that suggested. Still Netflix will not load on my smart TV or android devices. Works in Windows and apple devices.

Going to go back to my modem for the time being. Appreciate your guy's help.

Derek
« Last Edit: December 22, 2017, 10:44:26 pm by da.brown.m1 »

Offline NogBadTheBad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 604
  • Karma: +49/-0
    • View Profile

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2585
  • Karma: +208/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Netflix not working on smart TV and android devices
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2017, 02:09:22 am »
This ?
https://www.reddit.com/r/PFSENSE/comments/6weauh/ipv6_and_netflix_another_option/
I guess that won't help da.brown.m1 because
.... no changes other than PPoE info, disabling IPV6 on both Wan and Lan  ...  Still Netflix will not load on my smart TV or android devices. ..... Works in Windows and apple devices.
da.brown.m1 could have told us that his "Windows" and "Apple" devices aren't t using IPv6 connections at all. Because there is none on the LAN, pfSense won't route it. So these Windows and Apple devices are using IPv4 ... (@da.brown.m1  : can you confirm ?)

Offline da.brown.m1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Netflix not working on smart TV and android devices
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2017, 01:25:05 pm »
Correct, no IPv6 on lan.

The fixed I used before didn't require any additional p[packages, it was a setting somewhere that fixed it. Don't even recall what it pertained too in pfsense.

Offline da.brown.m1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Netflix not working on smart TV and android devices
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2017, 11:00:44 am »
This may be related i'm thinking.

https://community.netgear.com/t5/DSL-Modems-Routers/DM200-modem-is-not-working-correctly-in-bridge-mode/td-p/1346367

The DM200 modem doesn't use a real transparent bridge mode apparently, this is a newer modem than the last time I used pfsense due to a change to vdsl.