Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: SG-3100-questions  (Read 446 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline clugo633

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
SG-3100-questions
« on: December 26, 2017, 09:09:50 pm »
Ive had my 3100 for about a month and for the most part its doing its job well.  However, for the past couple of days Ive been trying various packages; Suricata, squid and squidguard. I abandoned squid and squidguard due to performance issues (the internet was behaving to slow) and suricata wouldnt run due to not enough resources (avail ram, only 2gb on 3100).  I used to run a vm pfsense on a 1u supermicro running an i3 with 16gb of ram..totally overkill but what i had.  Ive sense repurposed that machine as a ubiquity servers to run the controller and NVR.  I could switch back but I want to give the 3100 as much of a chance as possible. 

So I was wondering if anyone else was running squid and suricata on a 3100?  If so, what has been your experience?  Are you using legacy or inline? 

Any else concerned with the low ram amount?  I feel like 4gb should be the min to run these apps well.

Thanks.

Offline gsmornot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SG-3100-questions
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2017, 06:41:05 am »
I feel like more power should be available to the named packages as well. Knowing what it takes, I selected the 3100 based on my needs which do not include the packages you named. I replaced a much more powerful server with the 3100 for power savings, no noise, and to support the project but understood the limits after reading through the specs. Not saying I disagree with you on the limits but I think those limits were provided in the specs. The 3100 is not meant to be an everything device but for the basics itís fantastic. Great for most homes and small offices.

SG3100 would do well to have 4GB of RAM, I will give you that.

Offline ivor

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 662
  • Karma: +142/-129
    • View Profile
    • Netgate
Re: SG-3100-questions
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2017, 07:16:28 am »
@clugo633

What issues did you have with Squid and Squidguard? Those should not have any performance issues, I suspect configuration issue instead. Suricata should run in legacy mode without any issues. Snort does not work currently on SG-3100 due bug in Snort code, we are working on a solution.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2017, 07:32:49 am by ivor »
Need help fast? Commercial support: https://www.netgate.com/support/

Offline clugo633

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SG-3100-questions
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2017, 09:19:53 pm »
Thanks for the replies. I disabled Squid and squidguard and then my my available jumped back down to 20% used.    Surfing the web also improved.  I purchased through 3100 for some of the same reasons but it also claimed to be able to handle some of the packages that I installed on it.  Using pfblockerng and suricata must have used my storage as well even though it set to default on how much storage to use.  I'm sure configuration could be some the problem as I'm no expert but I do try experimenting in an effort to learn.  Any input is welcomed.



Offline ivor

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 662
  • Karma: +142/-129
    • View Profile
    • Netgate
Re: SG-3100-questions
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2017, 12:07:35 pm »
I would suggest you install back Squid and Squid and then open a new topic in appropriate section so everyone can help.
Need help fast? Commercial support: https://www.netgate.com/support/

Offline drewsaur

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SG-3100-questions
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2018, 11:15:00 am »
Thanks for the replies. I disabled Squid and squidguard and then my my available jumped back down to 20% used.    Surfing the web also improved.  I purchased through 3100 for some of the same reasons but it also claimed to be able to handle some of the packages that I installed on it.  Using pfblockerng and suricata must have used my storage as well even though it set to default on how much storage to use.  I'm sure configuration could be some the problem as I'm no expert but I do try experimenting in an effort to learn.  Any input is welcomed.

I run Suricata on a 2220 and itís not even close to a resource hog. If my understanding is correct, it should run even better on a 3100.

Offline JoeDiffieHellman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SG-3100-questions
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2018, 03:56:10 pm »
I'm running Suricata rulesets on three different VLAN interfaces without any issues. They take about 300 MB of RAM in each process. Running Squid on top of all this is what caused an out of memory condition and hung the device until I rebooted it. It's the Little Router that Could, but not too much.