pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: PIA setup  (Read 170 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline techy82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
PIA setup
« on: December 27, 2017, 06:45:46 am »
Hi

I have been having a few problems with PIA since yesterday, I have deleted the config and I am planing on setting it up again

please can someone point me to some instructions that are uptodate for the latest version of pfsense 2.4.2 p1 as some i have came across are not uptodate and dont seem to work

Thanks in advance!

Offline techy82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PIA setup
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2017, 10:12:27 am »
i've managed to reset it up again, but im getting the same issues as I was getting since late last night

when i try to browse with the openvpn (pia) client enabled it shows

DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_BAD_CONFIG

if i disable the client browsing is resumed?

any ideas?

Offline mtarbox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PIA setup
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2017, 02:54:32 pm »
Is the link showing as up?

Offline techy82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PIA setup
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2017, 03:17:13 pm »
Hi yes the link is showing as up, no errors are logged browsing just doesn't work on my device until I turn the client off

Offline Hakon74

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Offline techy82

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PIA setup
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2017, 09:57:47 pm »
It has started working again it must have been some sort of issue there end

Offline bcruze

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PIA setup
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2017, 06:22:24 am »
Hello.

lates guide https://helpdesk.privateinternetaccess.com/hc/en-us/articles/115005760606-Setting-up-a-Router-running-pfSense-Firmware

i posted that in the official PIA thread the day it happened.   i feel because of several of my support tickets to them.

they no longer suggest using their 256 bit encryption, the above is the ONLY "supported" way of connecting with a openvpn device...

i had told them how unhappy i was with the logs i was getting from them(console).   then i switched to nordvpn and that was a whole nother mess....   

anyways i am glad its working for you.   these openvpn setups have taken hours of my days trying to get this to work!