Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Bridging to extend a LAN  (Read 195 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline spaceman_spiff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Bridging to extend a LAN
« on: January 08, 2018, 08:43:22 pm »
Been doing some research on the following task, and I'm hoping your feedback will help me verify if my plan is correct.

Currently a broadband WAN is connected to a SG-3100 with 8 LAN devices connected via Ethernet (small unmanaged switch). Looking to extend the LAN to another building via 2 EnGenius ENH500 configured for WDS Bridge Mode. Once I have both ENH500's configured for WDS bridge, one will connect to a LAN port on the SG-3100 (main) and the other (remote) to a small unmanaged switch to support about 6 workstations in the 2nd building.

Primary objective is to allow Internet access for the machines in the 2nd building. Any feedback is appreciated
« Last Edit: January 08, 2018, 08:47:01 pm by spaceman_spiff »

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10257
  • Karma: +1176/-313
    • View Profile
Re: Bridging to extend a LAN
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2018, 02:13:23 am »
Seems reasonable.

If the whole network is trusted you can just give the bridges addresses on the LAN they are bridging.

If the network being bridged is not trusted, I would hope there is a management VLAN capability on them or something so the management interfaces aren't reachable from the untrusted network.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline spaceman_spiff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Bridging to extend a LAN
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2018, 05:28:13 pm »

Thanks for the response, Derelict

I was considering the microtik RB260GS switch for the new remote location. However, I am anticipating the KISS principle will prevail.

Telephone, and utility lines cross one possible path of the wireless. Lines cross about 10-15 feet from a ENH500. Telco wire is the lowest, elec is 3-4 feet above. Citing my decreasing inexperience with exterior wireless, I believe the wire profile will have little adverse on the wireless link if I aim thru the gap noted. Has anyone encountered something similar??

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10257
  • Karma: +1176/-313
    • View Profile
Re: Bridging to extend a LAN
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2018, 05:39:50 pm »
That will all depend. I can't imagine you will see any line-of-sight issues but I have never knowingly pointed a point-to-point through power lines. Distance to the lines will probably be key there. 15 feet is pretty close. The frequency should be way down at 60Hz though.

Put that end up and do whatever the engenius equivalent of ubnt's airview is. If the channels are clear you should be ok. But you'll probably have to try it and see.

Then you'll have to look again when everyone's air conditioners are running on a hot, August afternoon.

The fix, if you run into trouble, is probably a mast to get the radio above them.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM