Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Intel or AMD?  (Read 470 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alicemw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Intel or AMD?
« on: January 11, 2018, 06:21:13 pm »
I have two bare-bones systems I'm considering turning in to a pfsense box for my house. I usually have 15-20 network devices running at one time and I have fibre running to the house with a gigabit connection and a 24 port gigabit switch hooked up to a surfboard SB8200. The one bottleneck is a 2 year old lynksis ac router that badly needs replacement (that's where pfsense comes in).

The first system is a custom build
AMD A6 5400K
8gb RAM
64gb ssd
1tb hdd 7200rpm

The second is a dell optiplex 7010
Intel i5 3470
8gb RAM
64gb SSD
1tb hdd 7200rpm.

I think both systems are probably somewhat overkill but I'm not sure as I've never used pfsense.
Whichever doesn't get turned into a pfsense box will become a 2nd home server.

Which one would be the best fit for pfsense?

Thank You!

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2566
  • Karma: +154/-20
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: Intel or AMD?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 08:56:08 pm »
AMD A6 has 2 cores whereas the i5 has 4.
The pure performance seems quite equal

Only if you want to run lots of packages that benefit from multiple cores then I would use the i5 for pfSense.
But a NAS usually is bored to death as well.

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.

Offline Grimson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 349
  • Karma: +49/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Intel or AMD?
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2018, 04:48:32 am »
What type of NICs are in those two? If only one has Intel NICs use it for pfSense. Avoid Realtek NICs on pfSense, especially if you want gigabit performance.