Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: More than one external PPTP connection, is it possible?  (Read 137 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ddrazovic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
More than one external PPTP connection, is it possible?
« on: January 23, 2018, 03:15:30 am »
Hello,
is there any chance to avoid somehow pf limitations related to PPTP https://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/What_are_the_limitations_of_PPTP_in_pfSense now or in near future?

I am very satisfied with pfSense and I know PPTP is unsecured - but external clients use it and more than one client from my network need to connect there - and that is impossible now. I would like to buy Netgate with pfSense on it - but this is blocking problem for me.
I have only one WAN address and there is no chance for me to add new one, and I did not enable PPTP on my pfSense.

Offline Jackish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: More than one external PPTP connection, is it possible?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2018, 01:39:10 am »
Hello,
is there any chance to avoid somehow pf limitations related to PPTP https://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/What_are_the_limitations_of_PPTP_in_pfSense now or in near future?

I am very satisfied with pfSense and I know PPTP is unsecured - but external clients use it and more than one client from my network need to connect there - and that is impossible now. I would like to buy Netgate with pfSense on it - but this is blocking problem for me.
I have only one WAN address and there is no chance for me to add new one, and I did not enable PPTP on my pfSense.

PPTP is broken and the devs has stated that it will not be introduced again. if you insist on using the crap that PPTP is, your only option is to set up a PPTP capable server behind Pfsense and forward appropriate ports.

I cant possibly understand why you would though. There are far more superior alternatives out there and Pfsense supports most of them.
 

Offline ddrazovic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: More than one external PPTP connection, is it possible?
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2018, 02:26:54 am »
I don't use PPTP or I have it installed anywhere. External clients and companies use PPTP and people behind my pfSense need to connect to external client PPTP which, I repeat - it's not mine. You did not understand question.
So, from my side there is no PPTP, exterserver, only PPTP clients for connecting to PPTP servers which is out of my network, and I don't have any privilege to do anything on PPTP server on side of external clients and companies. On my side, there is OpenVPN and people connect to my environment with him, not with stupid PPTP. I guess now I'm clear :)

Offline Jackish

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: More than one external PPTP connection, is it possible?
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2018, 06:32:58 am »
I don't use PPTP or I have it installed anywhere. External clients and companies use PPTP and people behind my pfSense need to connect to external client PPTP which, I repeat - it's not mine. You did not understand question.
So, from my side there is no PPTP, exterserver, only PPTP clients for connecting to PPTP servers which is out of my network, and I don't have any privilege to do anything on PPTP server on side of external clients and companies. On my side, there is OpenVPN and people connect to my environment with him, not with stupid PPTP. I guess now I'm clear :)

Yeah, I must have missunderstood the "external clients" part. Im guessing you are referring to this limitation:

"Only one client can connect to a given PPTP server on the Internet simultaneously. 10 clients can connect to 10 different servers, but only a single simultaneous connection can exist to a single remote server."

I doubt any work will be done to remove that limitation, if it's even possible.

Offline ddrazovic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: More than one external PPTP connection, is it possible?
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2018, 06:46:03 am »
I'm waiting for that moment like a sun :)
I trying to delay replacement of pfSense (most possible with RouterOS or IPfire) as much I can and trying to see would this limitation will be avoided somehow with some new update. pfSense works like a charm - and I really don't want to change it just because of stupid PPTP who is out of my network.