Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: 2.3.5 - status/system log flooded with: NTPd not found  (Read 106 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 1000gumballs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
2.3.5 - status/system log flooded with: NTPd not found
« on: January 26, 2018, 08:28:40 pm »
Hi,

Log flooded with this:


Jan 27 03:20:00   php-cgi      servicewatchdog_cron.php: NTPD is starting up.
Jan 27 03:20:00   php-cgi      servicewatchdog_cron.php: The command '/usr/local/sbin/ntpd -g -c /var/etc/ntpd.conf -p /var/run/ntpd.pid' returned exit code '127', the output was '/usr/local/sbin/ntpd: not found'
Jan 27 03:20:00   php-cgi      servicewatchdog_cron.php: Service Watchdog detected service ntpd stopped. Restarting ntpd (NTP clock sync)
Jan 27 03:19:00   php-cgi      servicewatchdog_cron.php: NTPD is starting up.
Jan 27 03:19:00   php-cgi      servicewatchdog_cron.php: The command '/usr/local/sbin/ntpd -g -c /var/etc/ntpd.conf -p /var/run/ntpd.pid' returned exit code '127', the output was '/usr/local/sbin/ntpd: not found'
Jan 27 03:19:00   php-cgi      servicewatchdog_cron.php: Service Watchdog detected service ntpd stopped. Restarting ntpd (NTP clock sync)
Jan 27 03:18:00   php-cgi      servicewatchdog_cron.php: NTPD is starting up

No clue when it happened. I don't think after upgrade from 2.3.4, I would have noticed earlier. With a package update or something (?)

(Can't upgrade to p1 - 'can't check for update', and fiddling with update setting (to latest snapshot and back) to have it find update server doesn't work).

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2435
  • Karma: +192/-9
    • View Profile
Re: 2.3.5 - status/system log flooded with: NTPd not found
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2018, 01:27:46 am »
Hi,

Enter console mode. Option 8.
Enter :
Code: [Select]
ls -al /usr/local/sbin/ntpdYou should see :
Code: [Select]
-r-xr-xr-x  1 root  wheel  692424 Oct  9 00:12 /usr/local/sbin/ntpdThis program, the time deamon, is part of a basic FreeBSD/pfSense setup. It isn't possible that it isn't there.

I really advise you to do a clean install.

True, the "Watchdog"  isn't very smart neither, trying to (re) start a program that isn't there.

Not being able to check for updates could be the proof of other missing system files - or just a broken DNS setup. Don't spend more time, wipe it clean ;)