Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Identify and setting of Gateways  (Read 160 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline luke1018

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Identify and setting of Gateways
« on: February 01, 2018, 08:29:46 pm »
Hi all, would like to know more about setting up a Gateway.

Currently, I have a Gateway which is ACTIVE - WAN DHCP. But my other LANs DHCP are currently showing "Offline" or "Pending".

May I know how should I know which is the correct Gateway I should enter and where can I find the Information from? Besides, I also notice there are some status stated "Pending" what does that means.


Offline viragomann

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2693
  • Karma: +284/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Identify and setting of Gateways
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2018, 11:19:22 am »
Why have you set a gateway on the other interfaces than WAN?
If you don't know, go to the interface setting and set "Upstream gateway" to "none".

On WAN it seems you only get an IPv4 address from the DHCP. Obviously there is no IPv6 network connected to the interface. So set the "IPv6 Configuration" to "none" to get rid of the Pending-massage.

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15188
  • Karma: +1414/-206
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Identify and setting of Gateways
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2018, 11:24:34 am »
Where exactly is 10.0.109.2 a gateway too? or 10.0.109.50??

AS viragomann stated your lans should not have gateway.. Only interfaces you use to get to other networks, like the internet would have a gateway.. Sure you could have a downstream router that gets you to other networks, even the internet but that connection would be considered a wan or transit.. not a lan type of network.. No clients would be on such a network, etc..
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (home)

Offline luke1018

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Identify and setting of Gateways
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2018, 08:21:39 pm »
Why have you set a gateway on the other interfaces than WAN?
If you don't know, go to the interface setting and set "Upstream gateway" to "none".

On WAN it seems you only get an IPv4 address from the DHCP. Obviously there is no IPv6 network connected to the interface. So set the "IPv6 Configuration" to "none" to get rid of the Pending-massage.

Hi, i am trying to set and monitor 2 different network. The 192.168.76.2 is my VM IP, while the other 2 are gateway of my 2 servers. (Default Gateway) Trying to tab onto the network and monitor servers on those subnet.

Is this approach correct?

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9819
  • Karma: +1107/-311
    • View Profile
Re: Identify and setting of Gateways
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2018, 09:19:42 pm »
Fine. put a gateway and a monitor IP address on LAN but don't set a gateway on the LAN interface itself.

If it is showing down that means it is not responding to ping. You can only monitor addresses that reliably respond to ping.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM