Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: VLAN routing stops working by itself  (Read 120 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FarmerB3rd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
VLAN routing stops working by itself
« on: February 03, 2018, 04:05:52 am »
Folks,

I posted about this a while back but it seemed like a ramble...

I have a VLAN (300) which simply has an any/any rule. From laptop plugged into the switch I can ping the vlan's gateway. Perfect. I can also ping 8.8.8.8. This stays working for a while.

I go to speedtest.net and do a speed test and all of a sudden it stops working.

The screen print below is my test laptop connected into the switch. Pinging quite happily and all of a sudden the lights when dim.

I have:
Netgear switch;
Port 5 (U, 300, laptop)
Port 6 (T, trunk to OPT6 (trunked) on pfsense)

pfSense;
OPT6 2 VLANS, 300, 400
Rule in VLAN300 any/any

VLAN1 = 10.10.50.1/24
VLAN300 = 10.10.30.1/24


As said, this all works so I don't think there is any issue with the config.
It just stops working by itself. VLAN1 continues to work without hassle.

A reboot of pfSense is the only way to solve it (that I have found so far). Still trawling through the logs.
Hardware is a Gigabyte JI900 which, other than this issue, has never missed a beat in 3 years.

Any help with finding out why this is happening?


thanks,


 

Offline FarmerB3rd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: VLAN routing stops working by itself
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2018, 04:12:48 am »
ok, so a resolution is to ssh into pfsense and down/up the nic which the vlans are running on.

As soon as I do that the ping to the GW starts working again.

Does this suggets the NIC is porked?

Offline FarmerB3rd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: VLAN routing stops working by itself
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2018, 09:08:29 am »
And the culprit is..... the NIC :(

I've disabled it and used a - gasp - USB3 one I had knocking around.
So far, so good. Get a shade over 200Mb/s throughput which is more than ample for my needs (IoT wifi)