Netgate Store

Author Topic: Snort 3.2.9 and pfSense 2.4.x routing/slowdown issues  (Read 300 times)

Offline RichH

• View Profile
Snort 3.2.9 and pfSense 2.4.x routing/slowdown issues
« on: February 08, 2018, 03:06:42 pm »
Anyone else having trouble with Snort 3.2.9.x and pfSense 2.4.x?

I have been testing pfSense 2.4.2p1 using packages pfBlockerNG 2.1.2_2 and mailreport 3.1.  It seemed to work great so I added Snort 3.2.9.6_1 and configured it.  It looked good and was working o.k. for a while.  Then some traffic like google docs, gmail, etc started to quit working, and continued to get worse until almost no web traffic would work after a day or so.  Restarting every service available in the GUI did not help.  Only a server restart fixed the problem once it occurred.  So I started playing with it and found I could simulate the problem by going to dslreports.com speedtest and after running the test repeatedly.  After numerous tries, the problem would reoccur.  I also found the upload speeds to be absolutely dismal with Snort turned on -- without Snort I get upload/download speeds more than 500 Mbps.  With Snort on the upload speeds vary but are usually much less than 20 Mbps.  I would start to notice problems at dslreports speedtest when only a few of the green slices of the circle of available servers would show up.  Once it got bad only a reboot would fix it.  The logs do not show any problems.  Shutting off Snort w/o a reboot once it is bad does not help.  I did not see any blocked traffic in Snort to indicate a problem (like blocking the sites I was trying to visit).  Waiting for hours did not fix it.

My hardware and what I have tried:

HP G6 server with dual Xeon(R) CPU X5650
Broadcom 1 Gig ethernet x 4
40 Gig Memory
160 Gig HDD
Dual WAN gateway with failover, fast speeds over 500 Mbps on the primary and 100 Mbps on the secondary.

Tried: