Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line  (Read 412 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dims

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line
« on: January 06, 2018, 12:54:10 pm »
I have programmed Arduino board and it is visible from both Windows and Linux. I can connect this board to any of systems above and communicate with it via appeared TTY device.

Unfortunately, TTY device for Arduino does not appear on pfSense. Only ugen3.3 device appears, but I can't communicate with it with any TTY program.

What to do?

Offline johnkeates

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 827
  • Karma: +59/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2018, 02:23:05 pm »
I have programmed Arduino board and it is visible from both Windows and Linux. I can connect this board to any of systems above and communicate with it via appeared TTY device.

Unfortunately, TTY device for Arduino does not appear on pfSense. Only ugen3.3 device appears, but I can't communicate with it with any TTY program.

What to do?

pfSense is not a development environment, it's a firewall. No development stuff is included, no Arduino support either. You probably need special drivers for the Atmel serial USB chip.

Offline dims

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2018, 03:56:26 pm »
How to install these drivers on pfSense?

I don't need development, I need usage.

Offline johnkeates

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 827
  • Karma: +59/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2018, 09:17:42 pm »
How to install these drivers on pfSense?

I don't need development, I need usage.

If you need usage, I'd say, get a serial port and a plain Atmel chip with your product. If you can't get those, try a different USB to serial converter. If you can't do that either, you can probably plug the device in, use usbconfig to figure out the device IDs and then use the FreeBSD site or manpages to find the correct driver.

Offline bingo600

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2018, 05:20:40 am »
Remember pfsense has a FreeBSD engine "under the hood"
Maybe google "FreeBSD arduino serial" , or something like it.

My "Crystal Ball" was foggy today , else i would have looked up your usb-serial chip brand on the arduino.
My apologies ...  :-\

/Bingo
pfSense 2.4.2-p1

QOTOM-Q355G4 Quad Lan.
CPU  : Core i5 5250U
Ram : 8GB Kingston DDR3LV 1600
LAN  : 4 x Intel 211
Disk  : 240G Toshiba Sata SSD

Offline johnkeates

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 827
  • Karma: +59/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2018, 09:18:38 am »
Also, this is more a Arduino question, and not as much a pfSense question. Their docs say: https://playground.arduino.cc/Learning/FreeBSD
You basically have to make the driver yourself.

Offline dims

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2018, 04:00:14 am »
get a serial port and a plain Atmel chip with your product
Wow, you suggest to solder harware to modify it to fit software? Incredible!

Offline dims

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2018, 04:02:05 am »
Also, this is more a Arduino question, and not as much a pfSense question. Their docs say: https://playground.arduino.cc/Learning/FreeBSD
This includes compiling ports, which pfSense does not support.

Quote
You basically have to make the driver yourself.
Suppose I compiled uarduno driver on virtual FreeBSD. What next?

Offline dims

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2018, 04:06:05 am »
My "Crystal Ball" was foggy today , else i would have looked up your usb-serial chip brand on the arduino.

According to Wiki:

Some boards, such as later-model Uno boards, substitute the FTDI chip with a separate AVR chip containing USB-to-serial firmware, which is reprogrammable via its own ICSP header.

Since I tried FTDI and failed, second case applies.

Offline johnkeates

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 827
  • Karma: +59/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2018, 07:42:50 am »
The Arduino is an Atmel-based experimentation board with some boot loader sauce to make development easier. It's not a finalised security product to be integrated into security systems. I don't see how you are surprised that a mostly immutable OS doesn't support educational development tools.

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11999
  • Karma: +474/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2018, 09:26:40 am »
This looks fun, if perhaps not advisable!  ;)

The first thing to do here would be to boot FreeBSD 11.1 and see if that can see the serial device. If not by default then you may be able to load the correct driver module or compile something.

If you can get a kernel module that sees the serial device working in FreeBSD you can usually import that to pfSense and load it there.

Steve

Offline bingo600

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line
« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2018, 02:48:10 pm »
My "Crystal Ball" was foggy today , else i would have looked up your usb-serial chip brand on the arduino.

According to Wiki:

Some boards, such as later-model Uno boards, substitute the FTDI chip with a separate AVR chip containing USB-to-serial firmware, which is reprogrammable via its own ICSP header.

Since I tried FTDI and failed, second case applies.

Hmm ...

Wonder what Atmel (Microchip) says about my Arduinos with CH340 chips on them , being called an AVR chip
I even think i have a few with CP2102/2104 on them

Do you ever question if Wikki is up to date ??

Maybe have a look to verify if you have an AVR as the USB-Serial , or the popular CH340 used on most clones today.

/Bingo

pfSense 2.4.2-p1

QOTOM-Q355G4 Quad Lan.
CPU  : Core i5 5250U
Ram : 8GB Kingston DDR3LV 1600
LAN  : 4 x Intel 211
Disk  : 240G Toshiba Sata SSD

Offline dims

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line
« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2018, 07:50:39 am »
The first thing to do here would be to boot FreeBSD 11.1 and see if that can see the serial device.
It can't until port is made.

Quote
If not by default then you may be able to load the correct driver module or compile something.
Yes, I can.

Quote
you can usually import that to pfSense and load it there
Great!

How to do this?

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11999
  • Karma: +474/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to see Arduino from pfSense command line
« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2018, 12:43:40 pm »
What is the driver required? How does it appear in FreeBSD?

Steve