Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: [SOLVED] Unable to ping from LAN network to other subnet  (Read 105 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ulf-Ulf-Ulf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
[SOLVED] Unable to ping from LAN network to other subnet
« on: April 16, 2018, 03:38:05 am »
Hi,
I've setup a network which pretty much looks like this.



Apart from a defined gateway group for the two WAN connections and the different (virtual) network interfaces it is pretty much standard configuration.

I have trouble connecting from my notebook in the LAN (Mngmt_Admin) to the OPT7 (Mngmt_Switch) network.

To be precise:

Ping from 192.168.1.42 to 192.168.1.254. Works.
Ping from 192.168.1.42 to 192.168.2.254. Works.

Ping from 192.168.2.254 to 192.168.2.1. Works.

Ping from 192.168.1.42 to 192.168.2.1. Does not work.

So I figured this must be a firewall-rule or NAT issue or something. So I went on a google search to find the culprit.

I found some postings about having a gateway group could mess up your routing table. Some suggested I should add a static route to the other network.
I tried a bunch of stuff but at the end of the day it simply would not work.

Although I'm pretty sure this is somewhat of a trivial issue I couldn't quite get my head around it.

So if someone is willing to help me or guide into the right direction I would appreciate it very much.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: April 17, 2018, 04:40:17 am by Ulf-Ulf-Ulf »

Offline viragomann

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2832
  • Karma: +312/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to ping from LAN network to other subnet
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2018, 11:40:23 am »
Is the gateway set correct on the switch?

Offline Ulf-Ulf-Ulf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to ping from LAN network to other subnet
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2018, 04:40:02 am »
Is the gateway set correct on the switch?



This is pretty much how I feel right now!

It works now. Thank you!

As I see from your other posts you're german. If you by any chance are at the next 35C3, hit me up and I'll gladly buy you a drink!

Offline viragomann

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2832
  • Karma: +312/-1
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] Unable to ping from LAN network to other subnet
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2018, 04:46:23 am »
 :D
I'm Austrian. The 35C3 is to far for me to got to.