Netgate Store

Author Topic: Trunk 3 Nics to 3 Nics No switch  (Read 98 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Darkvodka34

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-7
    • View Profile
Trunk 3 Nics to 3 Nics No switch
« on: May 16, 2018, 06:31:06 am »
Howdy is it posable to run 3 ports from pfsense into (openmeidavault) 3 ports on this, Ive done a fab drawing lol

I can't seem to get an IP I made the Lagg Assignment but it still will not connect I even bonded the ports on OMV

Im out of ideas even this can be done without a switch.

Thanks

Offline Darkvodka34

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Trunk 3 Nics to 3 Nics No switch
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2018, 08:49:05 am »
All fixed issue was on OMV bonding side.

Offline NogBadTheBad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 641
  • Karma: +51/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trunk 3 Nics to 3 Nics No switch
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2018, 03:04:34 pm »
Why would you use 3 ports on your router like this when you have a single port feeding the clients ?

I'd get a switch that supports 802.3ad LACP.

Create a LAG using a couple of ports off your router and create VLANS, then create a LAG on the switch to OMV and place it in the VLAN you require.

Offline Darkvodka34

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Trunk 3 Nics to 3 Nics No switch
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2018, 03:22:56 pm »
I fixed the issue but thanks

I have no router it was pfsense .

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12493
  • Karma: +506/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Trunk 3 Nics to 3 Nics No switch
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2018, 04:15:45 pm »
Yes, you can setup a LAGG between the firewall and client directly. Or between two firewalls for that matter.

Steve