pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Question about updates  (Read 2826 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rds_correia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 201
    • View Profile
Question about updates
« on: November 20, 2005, 07:38:04 am »
This may sound silly but I have been asking myself this for a long time...
Imagine that 0.97.0 is release, that is, full-release.
Then imagine that after a couple of days we already have two updates, 0.97.2 and 0.97.4.
Now the real question is: can we just upgrade directly to 0.97.4 or do we need to first upgrade to 0.97.2 and only then to 0.97.4?
I have always loaded all the intermediate upgrades just to keep it on the safe side...
But occasionally it could save some minutes if I could patch it only with the latest upgrade and that's why I'm asking ;-).
Cheers
Running pfSense 1.2.3 with:
- Single WAN + LAN
- 6 VLANs
- Corporate Firewall
- PPTP VPN server
- Proxy server
- IDS server

on a HP Proliant DL385 G2 with:
- AMD Opteron Dual Core 2,4Ghz
- 4GB RAM
- 2x 72GB SAS Array on RAID 1+0
- 2x Broadcom bce(4) 100/1000 NICs

Offline Myntric

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Question about updates
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2005, 10:01:00 am »
Anyone correct me if I'm wrong, but it is possible to simply upgrade to the latest release.  The updates occur via a tarball that blindly updates all of the files.  Whether this will change in the future and incorporate a "diff" process or something of that sort, I'm not certain.  Thanks!

Mike

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5111
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Question about updates
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2005, 10:51:41 am »
All of this is temporary.  We have a very smart binary diff update system that will handle updating.   It's on our list to complete in the next couple weeks as we wind down from fixing bugs.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2005, 11:27:24 am by sullrich »

Offline rds_correia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 201
    • View Profile
Re: Question about updates
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2005, 03:52:39 pm »
Sorry to keep this topic running but English is not my native language... ::)
I'm still not 100% sure about this even after your comments on it ???.
Simple question: if I have a WRAP 0.90 running on my box can I take the most recent 2..5 MB release update (let's say a 0.97) and update it without doing all the intermediate updates?
Running pfSense 1.2.3 with:
- Single WAN + LAN
- 6 VLANs
- Corporate Firewall
- PPTP VPN server
- Proxy server
- IDS server

on a HP Proliant DL385 G2 with:
- AMD Opteron Dual Core 2,4Ghz
- 4GB RAM
- 2x 72GB SAS Array on RAID 1+0
- 2x Broadcom bce(4) 100/1000 NICs

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5111
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Question about updates
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2005, 03:54:16 pm »
Sorry to keep this topic running but English is not my native language... ::)
I'm still not 100% sure about this even after your comments on it ???.
Simple question: if I have a WRAP 0.90 running on my box can I take the most recent 2..5 MB release update (let's say a 0.97) and update it without doing all the intermediate updates?


Yes.  These are accumulative (think M$ service packs).

Offline rds_correia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 201
    • View Profile
Re: Question about updates
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2005, 04:06:04 pm »
Geee, thanks Scott.
That will definately save me a lot of time while upgrading my boxes ;).
Cheers
Running pfSense 1.2.3 with:
- Single WAN + LAN
- 6 VLANs
- Corporate Firewall
- PPTP VPN server
- Proxy server
- IDS server

on a HP Proliant DL385 G2 with:
- AMD Opteron Dual Core 2,4Ghz
- 4GB RAM
- 2x 72GB SAS Array on RAID 1+0
- 2x Broadcom bce(4) 100/1000 NICs