The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Does outbound Load Balance work with squid in pfsense 2.0 ALPHA?  (Read 5456 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wvini182

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Most of the pfsense admins knows the squid and balance limitation in 1.2 pfsense version, I read in somes posts in the pfsense forum this issue should be fix in the 2.0, im running some testing in my company with 2.0 ALPHA.  Anyone knows 100% if balance with squid is working in 2.0 ALPHA?

Thanks...
« Last Edit: March 30, 2009, 04:08:09 pm by wvini182 »

Offline databeestje

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1048
  • It just might be your luck day, if you only knew.
    • View Profile
Re: Does outbound Load Balance work with squid in pfsense 2.0 ALPHA?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2009, 01:43:25 am »
It does not, although Squid does support using multiple interfaces, this is not configurable from the webui of the squid package.

Offline ermal

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3357
    • View Profile
Re: Does outbound Load Balance work with squid in pfsense 2.0 ALPHA?
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2009, 03:27:32 am »
AFAIK it works if you add at Floating Rules a load balance rule with direction out.

Offline ermal

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3357
    • View Profile
Re: Does outbound Load Balance work with squid in pfsense 2.0 ALPHA?
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2009, 05:41:07 pm »
Did you click the quick option on the Floating tab rules?
It means that on the /tmp/rules.debug you should have a rule that says:
pass out quick on $WAN proto tcp from any to any port 80 ...... route-to{ ($WAN $WAN_GATEWAY) ($WAN2 $WAN2_GATEWAY) }

and if you check with pfctl -vsr you should see the states and counters of this rule increase.

Offline Abdsalem

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 299
    • View Profile
Re: Does outbound Load Balance work with squid in pfsense 2.0 ALPHA?
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2009, 06:50:46 pm »
Ermal, I couldnt reply to you on my closed bounty post, because it was locked.

I sent you a pm

Slam

Offline rojocesar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Re: Does outbound Load Balance work with squid in pfsense 2.0 ALPHA?
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2009, 10:35:29 am »
hi ermal!!! i am Cesar from Peru, i have only a question  ???  can you explain more about the tab FLOATING  in the firewall rules?  :P i don't know what function to do.. thanks for your reply  :) and a send you a hug from Peru..