The pfSense Store

Author Topic: PfSense on Hyper-V - applying reboot-patch  (Read 5084 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline onestone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
PfSense on Hyper-V - applying reboot-patch
« on: April 02, 2009, 06:25:48 am »
Hey guys,

just changed our firewall from monowall to pfsense and we have to say: we are very impressed, great job guys!!

Only one tiny-little-thing:

When running pfSense within Hyper-V you can not stop the machine correctly.

A possible Workaround: powershell-command (> Get-WmiObject -Namespace root\virtualization msvm_computersystem | Format-Table ElementName, ProcessId) + powershell-command (kill ID).

I found some russian guy who published a manual how to patch the freeBSD-Kernel to fix this:

http://blogs.technet.com/abeshkov/archive/2008/12/15/3169299.aspx

Here go the commands:

# cd /tmp
# wget http://shell.peach.ne.jp/~aoyama/wordpress/download/fbs71-200809-hvpatch.bz2
# cd /usr/src/
# bzcat < /path/to/fbs71-200809-hv.patch.bz2 | patch -p1
# make buildkernel
# make installkernel
# shutdown -r now

My problem: /usr/src is not in the installation-iso within pfsense - i do not want to play around with new kernel sources, so, my questions is:

1) where do i get your kernel to patch it myself
2) can't you patch your kernel with this patch so that hyper-v is happy and plays with pfsense? ;)

Thank you,
onestone

Offline onestone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: PfSense on Hyper-V - applying reboot-patch
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2009, 09:54:02 am »
anybody?

Offline cheesyboofs

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Re: PfSense on Hyper-V - applying reboot-patch
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2009, 08:47:01 am »
There is already a post relating to this under the Virtulisation section of the forum dating back to October 8th 2008,

http://forum.pfsense.org/index.php/topic,12157.0.html

There would appear to be no dev's willing to help out in fixing this. I could donate a valid M$ 2008 key to any dev's wishing to give it a go!
Author of pfSense theme: CODE-RED

Offline ermal

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3357
    • View Profile
Re: PfSense on Hyper-V - applying reboot-patch
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2009, 11:04:17 am »
There is a discussion going on about this in freebsd-hackers@ and this doesn't seem like a bug is a meter of a workaround for Hyper-V.
Lets where it ends and if a patch will be commited.

Offline CypherBit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: PfSense on Hyper-V - applying reboot-patch
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2009, 01:34:44 am »
I'd also greatly appreciate it if this was implemented. I'm in strictly MS environement going from Virtual PC/Virtual Server to Hyper-V. I've used m0n0wall before, but (as expected) it doesn't even begin to start under Hyper-V. pfSense is so very close apart from this issue.

I've talked to a number of people that are in the same situation...we need a good firewall, router for testing/production use under Hyper-V and I'd be very happy if pfSense would be the one (I've tried the latest 2.0 Alpha Snapshots and it remains unchanged there).

Offline DimitriRodis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: PfSense on Hyper-V - applying reboot-patch
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2009, 02:05:35 am »
We have it working under Hyper-V for a couple of clients.

The trick is to use the emulated network card.

Offline CypherBit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: PfSense on Hyper-V - applying reboot-patch
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2009, 02:35:47 am »
DimitriRodis could you please provide additional details. Which version are you using, do you have it installed on a HDD or are you using a LiveCD. Are you able to restart/shut it down without it hanging?

I'm naturally also using the Legacy Network adapters...is that what you mean by "emulated network card"?

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Offline cheesyboofs

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Re: PfSense on Hyper-V - applying reboot-patch
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2009, 10:36:44 am »
We have it working under Hyper-V for a couple of clients.

The trick is to use the emulated network card.

No one is saying they can't get it working, its trouble stopping it working we are having  :P

Again this should really be in the Virtulisation section of the forum.
Author of pfSense theme: CODE-RED