The pfSense Store

Author Topic: iwi0: could not load firmware. Thinkpad T43  (Read 3450 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline iorx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
iwi0: could not load firmware. Thinkpad T43
« on: April 02, 2009, 07:52:07 pm »
Hello!

I thought I found the ultimate low power, low cost, solution for my home firewall. A "no longer in use" Thinkpad T43. I've installed a PCCard 10/100 for the WAN-connection. My internet feed is 45-50mbit downstream and 10mbit upstream and this rig can keep up with that it looks like.

But here is the problem. Can't get the Wireless Intel 2915ABG going. Error: "iwi0: could not load firmware"

I've read that this shouldn't be a problem with bsd7. Running "1.2.3-RC1 built on Wed Apr 1 16:16:07 EDT 2009" from CD. (Running it from CD shouldn't be a problem uh?)

Anyone got an idea how to make this wireless card work?

Attached dmesg.txt

Offline wallabybob

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
Re: iwi0: could not load firmware. Thinkpad T43
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2009, 04:04:32 am »
Take a look at the FreeBSD man page for iwi. (Go to http://www.freebsd.org/cgi/man.cgi and type iwi in the man page box.)

I expect you will have to install then apply the loader.conf tweak described in the man page.


Offline iorx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: iwi0: could not load firmware. Thinkpad T43
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2009, 08:18:46 am »
Aha, I thought I had searched everywhere already.

Is it OK to edit that file, loader.conf, with the webgui? CR/LF and stuff like that don't get borked?

If I understand the situation correct there is a "no go" booting the live CD. Manipulating the .conf needs the possibility to write something to the startup procedure.

I'll get back to you with the progress. I'm not ready to format the disk in that machine, a hackintosh-installation which took to much time to install is there now. Going swap disk and do a install.

Offline dotdash

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1280
    • View Profile
Re: iwi0: could not load firmware. Thinkpad T43
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2009, 09:23:04 am »
See this: http://forum.pfsense.org/index.php/topic,13427.0.html
The card is useless if you want to use it an as AP.

Offline iorx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: iwi0: could not load firmware. Thinkpad T43
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2009, 06:56:49 pm »
Now I've read it the man pages and everything I could find.

Here is what gathered and tried.

If the iwi stuff is compiled into the kernel only the below is needed. Which it looks to be for bsd 7.
Code: [Select]
legal.intel_iwi.license_ack=1
iwi_bss_load="YES"
iwi_ibss_load="YES"
iwi_monitor_load="YES"

Same error:
kernel: iwi0: could not load firmware
kernel: firmware_get: failed to load firmware image iwi_bss

And then this:
Code: [Select]
legal.intel_iwi.license_ack=1
if_iwi_load="YES"
wlan_load="YES"
firmware_load="YES"
iwi_bss_load="YES"
iwi_ibss_load="YES"
iwi_monitor_load="YES"

From the system log:
Code: [Select]
Apr 4 00:55:27 check_reload_status: reloading filter
Apr 4 00:55:23 php: /interfaces_opt.php: Creating rrd update script
Apr 4 00:55:22 kernel: iwi0: promiscuous mode enabled
Apr 4 00:55:22 kernel: iwi0: could not load firmware
Apr 4 00:55:22 kernel: firmware_get: failed to load firmware image iwi_bss
Apr 4 00:55:22 php: /interfaces_opt.php: An error occurred while trying to obtain the MTU setting for bge0. Using 1500.
Apr 4 00:55:22 php: /interfaces_opt.php: An error occurred while trying to obtain the MTU setting for iwi0. Using 1500.
Apr 4 00:55:22 kernel: bridge0: Ethernet address: ee:d1:ce:80:39:4c
Apr 4 00:55:20 kernel: iwi0: promiscuous mode disabled
Apr 4 00:55:20 php: /interfaces_opt.php: foreach if is opt1
Apr 4 00:55:20 php: /interfaces_opt.php: foreach if is wan
Apr 4 00:55:20 php: /interfaces_opt.php: foreach if is lan
Apr 4 00:55:20 kernel: iwi0: could not load firmware
Apr 4 00:55:20 kernel: firmware_get: failed to load firmware image iwi_bss

As I, obviously, is not a bsd hacker I need some help here.

Do I need any enabler, to turn it "on", for the wlan-card? It is set to ON i the bios. I mentioned before that this machine has been running a hackintosh installation. This should be a little bit interesting because I got the wlan running there and OSX is related to bsd? But even if the card was working in hackintosh the wlan status led never light up.


Offline iorx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: iwi0: could not load firmware. Thinkpad T43
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2009, 07:02:46 pm »
Damn! Didn't see dotdashs link before I wrote the above. Okidoki the card doesn't work as AccessPoint. Case closed.

Thanks guys!
« Last Edit: April 03, 2009, 07:04:55 pm by iorx »