The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Traffic accounting  (Read 11257 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline charles.regan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Traffic accounting
« on: November 22, 2005, 07:43:36 pm »
Is there some package or utility i could use to do traffic accounting.
We have several users on our network and we want to check their monthly traffic.
Blocking after user has 10gig etc...

Thanks

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Traffic accounting
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2005, 09:26:31 pm »
Is there some package or utility i could use to do traffic accounting.
We have several users on our network and we want to check their monthly traffic.
Blocking after user has 10gig etc...

Thanks

NTOP in packages section

Offline charles.regan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Traffic accounting
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2005, 08:31:11 am »
NTOP doesn't keep the log. everytime I restart the service, all data is lost.
Can you tell me how to generate monthly report with NTOP?

Offline hoba

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Traffic accounting
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2005, 08:53:38 am »
That is normal ntop behavior. It doesn't write logs to disk and also doesn't keep everything for an endless long time even if it were running without reboot (it would explode ;D ). So after some time the older information is cumulative. Check the ntop webpage for more information on that.

Offline Jesse7

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Traffic accounting
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2005, 03:06:22 pm »
That is normal ntop behavior. It doesn't write logs to disk and also doesn't keep everything for an endless long time even if it were running without reboot (it would explode ;D ). So after some time the older information is cumulative. Check the ntop webpage for more information on that.


I don't think that is true.  I was running Ntop on .87-.92 and it kept the logs for about 2 months,  and it has the option to keep it for a year.  I was restarting all the time too.  I think you have to do the HDD install for it to work.  But it seems broken .93+ I just can't get it to keep the logs or even show some of the logs anymore.

Offline hoba

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Traffic accounting
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2005, 03:39:12 pm »
Ok, I'll shut up.  :P I haven't tested ntop for several versions (pfsense was about 0.6x when I tested ntop package last time I think) so maybe something changed here. When I tested it this was the normal behavior and there have been even confirmations at the ntop page itself but I don't find it anymore now.  ::)

Offline charles.regan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Traffic accounting
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2005, 05:23:53 pm »
OK so ntop seems to do what I want, but it needs a little tweaking ...
how can i export monthly traffic with ntop ?
is this possible??  ???

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Traffic accounting
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2005, 05:27:53 pm »
OK so ntop seems to do what I want, but it needs a little tweaking ...
how can i export monthly traffic with ntop ?
is this possible??  ???

Try looking around at http://www.ntop.org/

Offline Jesse7

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Traffic accounting
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2005, 05:46:57 pm »
OK so ntop seems to do what I want, but it needs a little tweaking ...
how can i export monthly traffic with ntop ?
is this possible??  ???

What version pfsense are you running please.  And can you access the information per lan ip?  As I am having problems with it after .93 etc I just need someone to confirm for me I'm the only one with the problem before I waste more time trying to get it going.

Offline charles.regan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Traffic accounting
« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2005, 07:18:04 pm »
i'm using the last version , 0.93

I have no problem accessing per ip information (ip-summary-traffic)

Offline Jesse7

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Traffic accounting
« Reply #10 on: November 23, 2005, 07:26:56 pm »
I had problems with .93+ and Ntop.  Last version it was working perfectly for me on was .90 ( I think it is just me though).

Have you done the harddrive install? Or are you running the LiveCD only version.

Also if a computer has not been turned on for a while the stats for that IP will dissappear or if you restart your box and a computer with ip X was not turned on it's stats will not show up until the computer is connected again.  It is really anoying, unless the person leaves their computer on often, but it will save thier previous stats,  and there is a way to manually access the stats because it saves them to the HDD (sorry I don't know how though).

« Last Edit: November 24, 2005, 01:47:40 pm by Jesse7 »

Offline charles.regan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Traffic accounting
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2005, 06:47:49 am »
I'm running pfsense on my hard drive.

We are a WISP in Quebec and we are using pfsense since last week, and I must say we love this new gateway!
What we want to do with NTOP is print monthly traffic report and send it to our customer.

If anyone reads this and knows how, let me know!  :)

Offline Jesse7

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Traffic accounting
« Reply #12 on: November 24, 2005, 01:49:44 pm »
Ummmm

Click on the historical data for that customer and click on 1month instead of 1 hour which is the defualt.  Then press print in your browser.

Offline charles.regan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Traffic accounting
« Reply #13 on: November 24, 2005, 03:11:26 pm »
 My Ntop doesn't have that. Do I have to activate something in the configuration menu?

BTW if I restart the NTOP services via pfsense web console, all my configuration that I made on NTOP webconsole are lost...
« Last Edit: November 24, 2005, 03:14:02 pm by charles.regan »

Offline Jesse7

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Traffic accounting
« Reply #14 on: November 24, 2005, 05:14:45 pm »
My Ntop doesn't have that. Do I have to activate something in the configuration menu?

BTW if I restart the NTOP services via pfsense web console, all my configuration that I made on NTOP webconsole are lost...

What configuration where?  Sounds like to me you don't have it installed to the HDD.  If you are running version .93x then that is probably your problem with Ntop.  Reinstall version .87 as that is the only version I can guarentee it will work with.  Perhaps .90 will work too as I have had it working on that version by upgrading from .97etc.

You have enable rrd tool.  You said above that you had all the traffic statistics per ip etc,  now I know you are just talking about the statistics shown in numerical form only.  The statistics I am talking about are avialable in graphical and numerical form and you can choose 1 hour 6 hours 12hours 1day 1month 1 year.  To view the history of each IP or a total.

Once you enable rrd tool when you click on an individual IP to view extra information about that person you will find a columb "Historical data" and a little Icon of a graph.  It's easy to miss so look carefully for it.

Let me know how you go.  In .93 when you enable rrd tool you will probably have an error :).