The pfSense Store

Author Topic: A Complete CARP / Failover setup  (Read 5323 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ezzadin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
A Complete CARP / Failover setup
« on: July 17, 2009, 11:02:39 am »
Hi,

I would like to setup a complete hardware/connection failover... I will be having two connection from two different ISPs...

do I need three pfsense server for this or 2 is enough? and how many NIC do I need to each? what would be the best way to set this up?

is there manual somewhere that I can use? I already have the manual for CARP Cluster but nothing mentioned about secondary internet connection

Thanks all




Offline AudiAddict

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
    • View Profile
Re: A Complete CARP / Failover setup
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2009, 11:21:52 am »

Offline ezzadin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: A Complete CARP / Failover setup
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2009, 11:50:46 am »
thanks..

but this document doesn't say anything about having two ISPs though

how that works...do I need to have two WAN per each machine? so that means 4 NIC per each

Offline Evgeny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1808
    • View Profile
Re: A Complete CARP / Failover setup
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2009, 09:40:39 am »
CARP is not for two ISPs but as you fairly mentioned for hardware redundancy. For two ISPs you need LoadBalancer or BGP.

Offline ezzadin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: A Complete CARP / Failover setup
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2009, 09:58:37 am »
thanks...

ok, so what would I need to setup the loadBalancer? Do I need 1 NIC for pfsync, 1 for the switch and 2 for ISPs? so total of 4 NICs..correct?






 

Offline ezzadin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: A Complete CARP / Failover setup
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2009, 10:56:23 am »
does Pfsense supports BGP?

Offline dotdash

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1279
    • View Profile
Re: A Complete CARP / Failover setup
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2009, 11:39:28 am »
OpenBGPd is available as a package.
As for the NICs, you should have one more on each box than you would for a stand-alone system. This would be for a dedicated sync interface between the boxes.

Offline ezzadin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: A Complete CARP / Failover setup
« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2009, 12:25:12 pm »
thanks

How is OpenBGPd? have you ever used it? does it work good?

and for the NIC, are you sure that need another one? 1 for syncing, 1 for switch, 2 for ISPs (two ISPs).. total 4 NICs...

Am I missing something here?

Offline dotdash

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1279
    • View Profile
Re: A Complete CARP / Failover setup
« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2009, 12:43:26 pm »
How is OpenBGPd? have you ever used it? does it work good?

and for the NIC, are you sure that need another one? 1 for syncing, 1 for switch, 2 for ISPs (two ISPs).. total 4 NICs...
a) I haven't used it, so I can't comment on how well it works.
b) Yes, 2 WANs, LAN, and SYNC would be four interfaces in each. I generally just use a crossover cable for the SYNC.

Offline ezzadin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: A Complete CARP / Failover setup
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2009, 02:43:20 pm »
do you recommend any two-ports Network adapter? something that works with pfsense


Offline dotdash

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1279
    • View Profile
Re: A Complete CARP / Failover setup
« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2009, 03:03:23 pm »
I haven't ordered any recently, so I don't know if you can get these anymore. Generally Intel nics are supported, but there are sometimes problems with the newest chipsets. Anyway, I'm running these personally in several boxes, so I'm sure they work with pfSense.
Intel PWLA8492MT Dual 10/100/1000 PCI/PCI-X
Intel EXPI9402PTBLK Dual 10/100/1000 PCI-e
These may be the low-profile numbers, but IIRC, they came with both brackets.
If you don't need GB, check ebay for used dual-port Pro100 cards.

Online Supermule

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1489
    • View Profile
Re: A Complete CARP / Failover setup
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2009, 03:40:02 am »
Can you run Carp with only one public IP adress???

I have a minor dicussion with our IT expert, and he believes it will take 3 public IP adresses to run carp with 2 pfsense boxes....

What do you guys say about that???
Kind regards Brian


Offline dotdash

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1279
    • View Profile
Re: A Complete CARP / Failover setup
« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2009, 08:41:47 am »
Your IT expert is right. He is the expert after all.
(OpenBSD has CARPdev, which allows you to run a cluster with one public IP, but FreeBSD does not have this functionality yet)

Online Supermule

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1489
    • View Profile
Re: A Complete CARP / Failover setup
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2009, 09:17:26 am »
Super! I need to get more beer then.... :D :D

Your IT expert is right. He is the expert after all.
(OpenBSD has CARPdev, which allows you to run a cluster with one public IP, but FreeBSD does not have this functionality yet)
Kind regards Brian