The pfSense Store

Author Topic: new builds not working on alix ?  (Read 5525 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sandman06

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
new builds not working on alix ?
« on: September 05, 2009, 07:11:16 pm »
i recently tried to upgrade to the september builds

and i can no longer get a ip to my alix 2c2 to configure the web setup on default.

have vr1 and vr0 been changed in this build.

i thought 192.168.1.1 was the default setup for alix on pfsense nano.

can any confirm this for me

ive had to rever to using m0n0wall for time being

Offline gloomrider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: new builds not working on alix ?
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2009, 07:27:04 pm »
Can you connect to the serial port?

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6326
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: new builds not working on alix ?
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2009, 08:10:28 pm »
See what it shows on the serial console. You probably don't have the latest ALIX BIOS, you need a newer one to use nanobsd snapshots.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14934
    • View Profile
Re: new builds not working on alix ?
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2009, 12:10:35 pm »
It would also help to know exactly which image(s) you tried that did not work, either timestamps or links to the image file would help.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline sandman06

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: new builds not working on alix ?
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2009, 05:04:30 pm »
sorry i dont have serial port on my model. when i bought it was removed.

erm the images i tried were the following

pfSense-1.2.3-4g-20090904-0218-nanobsd.img.gz


hope this helps. i really want to get back to using pfsense

Offline gloomrider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: new builds not working on alix ?
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2009, 06:24:14 pm »
sorry i dont have serial port on my model. when i bought it was removed.

erm the images i tried were the following

pfSense-1.2.3-4g-20090904-0218-nanobsd.img.gz


hope this helps. i really want to get back to using pfsense

You likely need a BIOS update

Some detail on that process is here: http://www.pcengines.ch/freedos.htm  But without a serial port, you will not be able to interact with the update process.

So there's no DB9 connector on your ALIX board?

Offline FRiC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: new builds not working on alix ?
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2009, 01:40:50 am »
You could probably create a batch file to automatically update the BIOS...

Offline sandman06

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: new builds not working on alix ?
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2009, 05:24:17 am »
no db9 port.

if someone can explain how to fix this or create a batch automatic update file


please thanks

Offline gloomrider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: new builds not working on alix ?
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2009, 10:00:18 am »
Assuming you have created a FreeDOS CF card with everything you need including the flashing program and the new BIOS image, all you would need to do is add the flashing command to AUTOEXEC.BAT.  If the flashing program requires user interaction, that's another issue.

Offline FRiC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: new builds not working on alix ?
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2009, 11:52:20 am »
The update process was automatic when I last tried it, so you could probably just put the flash command in AUTOEXEC.BAT

Be sure to wait a while, you don't want to power cycle when it's flashing...

Offline gloomrider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: new builds not working on alix ?
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2009, 03:08:15 pm »
And at the very end of the process, assuming everything worked the way it was expected to, will pfSense apply a specific IP address to a specific interface so that the box can be accessed and set up?

Offline FRiC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: new builds not working on alix ?
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2009, 11:42:14 pm »
And at the very end of the process, assuming everything worked the way it was expected to, will pfSense apply a specific IP address to a specific interface so that the box can be accessed and set up?

192.168.1.1 on the right.

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
    • View Profile
Re: new builds not working on alix ?
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2009, 03:54:27 am »
i was on the 0.99 bios on my alix2c3 and everything seemed to work till the 7th sep update for me but i read that due to image sizes being resized so a reflash was recommended so i did exactly that using the 8th sept update and found my box not to boot anymore so i did a bios update and thats where i nticed that the bios update was actually using the alix1.bin file to update rather than me providing it with the alix2.bin file but now i cant even enter bios setup at all.

Offline sandman06

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: new builds not working on alix ?
« Reply #13 on: September 09, 2009, 05:57:39 am »
unfortunately im not that advanced of a user to make a autoexe batch file to run the automatic update via CF.

all i want to know is what has changed since the last image i was using on nano

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
    • View Profile
Re: new builds not working on alix ?
« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2009, 08:09:51 am »
unfortunately im not that advanced of a user to make a autoexe batch file to run the automatic update via CF.

all i want to know is what has changed since the last image i was using on nano

1) get a spare CF card and downlaod the latest bios drivers
2) go to this link and follow the LBA image file part http://www.pcengines.ch/freedos.htm
3) using a USB card reader use physdiskwrite to copy the image file to the CF card
4) then go to windows explorer and copy the bios update files to the same CF card
5) create a file called autoexec.bat and in it type the command sb.com and save in same CF card and boot from this CARD and everthing should be fine