pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Partitions  (Read 2531 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jonb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Peer Point Internet
Partitions
« on: August 02, 2006, 08:30:47 am »
How do I increase the partions size on a new drive
For IP connectivity, Cloud Backup and UK co-lo hosting check us out.
http://www.peerpointinternet.co.uk

Offline hoba

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Partitions
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2006, 09:15:44 am »
The installer defaults to use the full diskdrive as partition. No need to increase.

Offline Jonb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Peer Point Internet
Re: Partitions
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2006, 09:21:22 am »
I have already installed it but I have increase the drive size and used ghost to copy the imige over
For IP connectivity, Cloud Backup and UK co-lo hosting check us out.
http://www.peerpointinternet.co.uk

Offline hoba

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Partitions
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2006, 10:04:58 am »
I recommend doing a fresh install (even as RC2 was just released). You only need only to backup your config.xml. copy it to a floppy in a folder "/conf". Place the Floppy in that machine and fire up the livecd of RC2. It will load the config.xml from the floppy on bootup. Then run option 99. It will install pfSense to hdd and transfer the floppy config too. This should only take you about 5-6 minutes and you have a fresh system.

If you still want to use ghost, use the option to resize the partition. Newer ghostversions offer this feature or use a partition tool. However, this is most likely more work than just reinstalling RC2 and transfer the config.xml.

Offline Jonb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Peer Point Internet
Re: Partitions
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2006, 10:17:50 am »
ok no prob thanks for the help
For IP connectivity, Cloud Backup and UK co-lo hosting check us out.
http://www.peerpointinternet.co.uk

Offline Numbski

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 276
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • FreeBSD/MacOS X nutcase
    • View Profile
Re: Partitions
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2006, 06:59:13 pm »
Just as a point of interest, I never did get Ghost to work properly with FreeBSD.  If you do manage to get this to work, you'll likely have to run growfs in order to grow the available disk space.

I've just recently started playing with LVM2 on a Debian NAS device I have here, and although I was originally very hesitant, I have to say that the combination of md devices (not to be confused with FreeBSD's md's) and lvm's is quite a refreshing change, and it's a pity it cannot be used under FreeBSD.  Instead of being stuck with just /dev/ad0, you could make a pv (physical volume) out of /dev/pv0, then add it to your volume group, /dev/vg0.  Once there, then create a logical volume, say pfsense, /dev/vg0/pfsense, and install there.  Run out of disk space?  Add another drive, create another pv, add it to vg0, run growfs, life goes on. :\

Ah well, please ignore my postulations. ;)

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Partitions
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2006, 08:47:10 pm »
Just as a point of interest, I never did get Ghost to work properly with FreeBSD.  If you do manage to get this to work, you'll likely have to run growfs in order to grow the available disk space.

I've just recently started playing with LVM2 on a Debian NAS device I have here, and although I was originally very hesitant, I have to say that the combination of md devices (not to be confused with FreeBSD's md's) and lvm's is quite a refreshing change, and it's a pity it cannot be used under FreeBSD.  Instead of being stuck with just /dev/ad0, you could make a pv (physical volume) out of /dev/pv0, then add it to your volume group, /dev/vg0.  Once there, then create a logical volume, say pfsense, /dev/vg0/pfsense, and install there.  Run out of disk space?  Add another drive, create another pv, add it to vg0, run growfs, life goes on. :\

Ah well, please ignore my postulations. ;)

You really should check out GEOM.